Tenshin Ranman Review

June 18, 2009 at 1:40 am 36 comments

Tenshin Ranman

Company: YuzuSoft
Game site:
天神乱漫 LUCKY or UNLUCKY!?
Release date: May 29, 2009
Links: Getchu, walkthrough, seiyuu listing

A pure love school-based ADV that is both cute and slightly ecchi, Tenshin Ranman is YuzuSoft’s 4th release and has a different feel from their previous game.  The story revolves around Chitose Haruki, his misfortunes and a goddess that appears to reverse his luck. Will his bad luck finally be lifted and what good luck will befall him?

There is a patch (ver 1.02) for the game that fixes some minor errors.

Sana-chan! Hime-chan!
Ah, good morning, Honoka-san.
What’s wrong? You seem more excited than usual.
Big news! You two are featured in an upcoming article!
Hou~
What… is it about?
Oh, everything everyone wants to know of course!
That’s the purpose of the newspaper!
E-e-everything!? Nii-san will find out everything!
Nii-san, don’t go around spying on others like that, even if we’re…
Ah! But everyone else will know too! W-w-what should I do!? B-b-but,
if nii-san is fine with it, then I don’t care if the whole world knows either!
Come nii-san! Let’s tell the world how much we love each other!!!!!
Honoka, how could you be so cruel to your friends…
How can this pure maiden live with the shame of strangers peeping
into her heart….
Gu~ru gu…
Here, just read it. See ya!
Hey! Come back here!
… nii-san… ehehe…

Opening Theme

YuzuSoft doesn’t hold back when making OPs. This time, it’s almost fully animated and even has a dance (à la Haruhi). I didn’t quite see the point of the dance as it relates to the game, although it is cute. Sakakibara Yui does a great job singing this upbeat song.

Scenario

A normal day for Chitose Haruki is one of accidents and bad luck. Even if it isn’t raining, he will get wet. If he drops his cell phone, it’ll be into a puddle of water. He has lost track of how many times he has lost his wallet or house key. Over time, he has gotten used to it.

TR_CG

One day, a large cardboard box is delivered to his house. Haruki opens it and a girl steps out. She introduces herself as the goddess Unohana no Sakuya Hime and proclaims that she will help protect him from misfortunes.

「妾はな、その不幸からお主を助けに来た」

She says that he is cursed by the Gods with misfortune. While she cannot dispel the curse as it had been passed down for generations, she can help alleviate the effects by sucking out the misfortune. She then leans in and kisses him on the lips.

TR_CG2

Tenshin Ranman has 6 routes, with 4 full length heroine routes and 2 shorter subheroine routes. The common route lasts until the beach outing in July, after which you are locked into a route. There are no bad ends. Mahiro and Yukari’s routes are considerably shorter and only resolve one problem and explain the character’s past. While, there’s not really a set order you should do the routes, I would recommend leaving Ruri for last. Her route is a bit different than the others. Once you have completed all 6 routes, an extra H scene will open up in mid-June (I highly approve).

As the subtitle to the game (“LUCKY or UNLUCKY!?”) suggests, a major theme among the 4 heroine routes is whether his misfortunes really are bad at all. Just like real life, there are two sides to everything and bad luck can have a good outcome. Other themes that are present include true happiness, sacrifices, miracles, sharing burdens, love overcoming all odds, and never giving up even if the future looks bleak.

TR_CG3

The game is mostly comedic during the common route and then becomes more romance-based and dramatic during each heroine’s route. I like how the perspective changes sometimes to show the story from the other side, so you can understand their feelings too. While I think the endings were quite satisfying, I think the pacing could have been better. Some of the scenarios took too long to get going, especially Aoi’s. I also felt that some of the H scenes weren’t really necessary, especially those in the epilogue.

There’s a cameo of Yuiko and Futaba from Natsuzora Kanata. During the club activity trials early in the game, there are numerous parodies, including Prince of Tennis. Hime really shouldn’t learn from manga and games. I also thought it was quite nice of her to break the fourth wall and mention flags, routes, BGMs and event CGs.

TR_Sana2

THIS IS AN IMOUTO GAME
(Lies, Hime is not an imouto!)

Sana’s (HIME’S) route was pretty much perfect from beginning to end. From her nii-san suki suki aura to the final trial of their fledgling romantic relationship, I was extremely happy. I just wish there were even more deredere moments, especially during the summer months. I think I must’ve replayed her route at least 3 times now. It’s such a touching imouto route ( ´Д⊂ヽ

While I loved Sana’s route, Hime’s was just as good too. I was greatly moved by Haruki’s speech and was despairing when everything was going badly. Ruri’s helped explain about the curse, although I felt that the route wasn’t really about Haruki and Ruri’s relationship. I couldn’t get into Aoi’s at all since it was too drawn out (I liked the ending though). For a short route, Mahiro’s was sweet and made me feel for her character. I finished Yukari’s in record time since I was terrified of her.

TR_CG4

「佐奈ちゃんが普通の妹なら、
全国のお兄ちゃんは大変なことになっちゃってるよね」

Micchi’s recommended route order:
Aoi, Mahiro, Yukari, Sana, Hime, Ruri

Micchi’s route rankings:
Hime, Sana, Ruri, Mahiro, Aoi, Yukari

Well as Micchi already covered the basic overview, I will offer up a few of my opinions and observations on the scenarios. As I do so love to complain I will start with everyone’s favorite, the negatives! I feel that Tenshin lacks a lot in the writing department. While Micchi pointed out the pacing being off, I feel the problem goes even deeper than pacing. The writing itself was overly descriptive, going into unnecessary details and dialogue that can normally be assumed and ignored. Felt to me as though they resurrected Nathaniel Hawthorne from the grave and had him write out the scenarios. Problem being that this type of writing often puts me to sleep… in fact I passed out at my computer during the Sana route. (That was not Sana’s fault) Of course we know this is due to Sana being good for nothing besides comic relief.

Pacing is of course the other major issue that comes to light, most profoundly with the Aoi route. Aoi just drags on and on and on until your finger itches and begs to hold control just to make things go faster. While it is difficult to properly illustrate the issue without revealing spoilers, I can say that with Aoi they dragged out her issues way too long. There were days and days and days that felt like carbon copies of one another with NOTHING changing. In most cases the romantic developments did not feel natural. Stories develop so slowly and awkwardly only to hit a point where, suddenly some catalyst brings things to a head almost instantly in comparison. Mahiro, Yukari and perhaps Hime had the best pacing while Aoi was by far the worst followed by Sana.

On somewhat of a side note I also felt that the overlap between the routes did not help much in keeping things interesting during replays. For the most part with one major exception the various routes began and ended on the same days dealing with a similar progression of events in the school. By the third route this was getting to be more than a little old and I really longed for some other events to take place. Even the date scenes were similar and gave off a feeling of copy paste being used liberally.

TR_SD5

Now with my complaining out of the way time for what was good and made this game worth playing. To start witIT HAS SANA!!!! Interruptions from people obsessed with characters no one else really cares about aside, the characters are one of the main appeals of Tenshin. Yes yes I am aware that can be said for almost every eroge that people want to play. However what I am highlighting is that there are a number of touching moments and developments which really help you grow attached to the characters. Hime’s route especially was very well done with plenty of romantic moments mixed with a healthy dose of comedy. I especially enjoyed how the game would change perspectives to give another angle on characters emotions and or plot developments.

I also felt that Haruki having to actually do something other than be ‘kind’ was worth noting. Aside from the two half-assed routes Haruki takes a more active role than most protagonists. Having to actually work and prove that he truly cares about the other person. This came together especially well with the Hime route. I found this a refreshing change from the usual kind, lump of uselessness that are most eroge protagonists. Sitting around playing nice guy and letting the girls come to you gets a bit old after awhile.

While this will have to be quick to avoid spoilers I also did enjoy most of the endings. They were quite touching and gave a nice feeling of completion.

Zen’s recommended route order:
Whoever you want, Ruri

Zen’s route rankings:
Hime, Mahiro, sana, Yukari, Ruri, Aoi

Characters

Chitose Haruki

TR_Haruki

Destined to a life of misfortune, Haruki has resigned himself to getting into accidents and trouble. While he seems apathetic, he is actually a kind person who won’t give up on something if it’s for people close to him.

Normally, I wouldn’t include a picture of the protagonist, but Haruki was just too awesome in Hime’s route. When he wants to get something done, he sure doesn’t fool around. I agree with Sana that he’s probably a tsundere uke.

I rather liked Haruki as a protagonist. Besides the standard nice guy protagonist he starts out rather boring and the girls tend to bring out the other parts of his character even as he helps them with their problems.

Unohana Hime

TR_Hime

Unohana no Sakuya Hime is a goddess sent to Haruki to protect him from misfortunes. A bit of a troublemaker and likes teasing people (Haruki) to see their reactions. She doesn’t seem to like her superior that much.

When the character designs first came out, my immediate thought was: Haruhi. While not exactly the same, there are similarities. Suprisingly, I liked her character as she’s playful, yet can be serious.

Hime is just.. so perfect.  I liked her character by far the most of all in Tenshin. Her playful teasing side is funny yet she knows when not to tease and joke around. Her stare of doom is epic as are her jealous outbursts. Hime is quite frankly the type of person I love to be around so I really enjoyed seeing those character traits in an eroge heroine.

I can definitely see the Haruhi resemblance as well. I think it is just the overall art style that really begs for the comparison.

Though I am sure that for everyone besides Micchi this goes without saying, I will venture to say it anyway. Hime > Sana hands down no questions asked.

I know I’m not the only one!!

Your numbers will pale in comparison to those who like Hime.

Rindou Ruri

TR_Ruri

Ruri is a fox spirit that followed Hime from the realm of the gods and ends up living together. She doesn’t like Haruki much as she thinks that he’s bothering her Hime-nee-sama, and often bites him on the arm. Converses with animals and acts like one too. Easily tempted by food. She often uses colorful adjectives to describe things.

Ruri’s just like a cute pet that takes some time to tame. It’s funny seeing her animal instincts and behaviors.

Loli furry. I really don’t like Ruri. Frankly I find her bothersome even though her biting is amusing. The whole innocent animal bit can only go so far. I can only imagine she is here to appease the furry crowd.

Chitose Sana

TR_Sana

Sana is Haruki’s younger sister and has a huge brother complex. When she panics, she often says a lot of embarrassing things, although it just shows how much she loves him. Great at cooking and housework, and nice to everyone. A bit scared of ghost stories. Surprisingly knows a lot of otaku terms, probably from reading manga.

THE BEST IMOUTO EVER. Hau~ omochikaeri~!!!!!!! My favorite character ever. She’s such a loving imouto who cares greatly for her nii-san. Her slightly ero thoughts and dere side are killer, especially when she sneaks in at night to sleep together. It’s hilarious when she’s out of control. When she gets jealous, her ‘dark Sanamode reminds me of Da Capo‘s Nemu.

Sana is an extremely cute character who goes to show exactly why the role of cute imouto is for comic relief. I like Sana a lot… AS an imouto to laugh at, nothing more. She can however cook. This is a plus and means I would definitely want her as my imouto. Nothing quite like having your own private chef mmmm delicious.

In the end her personality is too childish for me to have any interest in her.

She’s mine. Hands off.

C’mon share. Won’t hurt to let her cook for other people too! Let her be useful!

Yamabuki Aoi

TR_Aoi

Aoi is Haruki’s childhood friend, whose good looks and cheerful personality makes her popular at the school. However, she turns down everyone who has confessed to her since she doesn’t really have interest in romance. She often gives protection charms to Haruki to help him ward off misfortune, but they don’t seem to work. She isn’t honest with her own feelings and thinks of others before herself.

She’s a likeable character, albeit a bit boring. I couldn’t really get into her route.

I feel that Aoi’s character was not done justice with her route. She could have been developed far more without dragging things out so long. Her route aside she is a cute character who needs constant reassurance.

Tokiwa Mahiro

TR_Mahiro

The student council president of Mizunagi Gakuen. She’s great at studying and very kind. Doesn’t like to trouble others and would rather do things herself. Loves curry.

The first of two subheroines, Mahiro is likeable and smiles a lot. Even though her route was short, I thought Mahiro’s character was well described. It’s odd that I’d like big-breasted senpais, but I’ll make an exception this time.

Another character I liked a lot. Mahiro has a really fun personality that makes you want to hug her. Unfortunately I cannot say all I want to about her or else I would ruin the bulk of her route.

Karasuba Yukari

TR_Yukari

The second subheroine, Yukari is Haruki’s homeroom teacher and is the youngest teacher in the school. Makes it known to her students that they shouldn’t do things to waste her time. She doesn’t like smoking, but she always keeps a lighter and cigarettes on her.

S. I don’t want to be her pet T_______T

I hope she puts you in a cage and throws away the key, so then I can steal Sana and make her cook for Hime and me! (In your dreams) I will place a Sana plush under a box, you cannot resist.

Ahh Yukari. The character for all the M people out there. Frankly I do like Yukari however I would have liked it a lot more if the main character would tease her back more often. She was really cute when being teased.

Subcharacters

TR_Wataru

The subcharacters are well rounded and utilized decently in routes (some more than others). They include energetic classmate Honoka, Aoi’s older sister Wataru, baka classmate Iori, Haruki’s childhood friend Kotarou, Haruki’s grandfather Shinichirou and strict teacher Oitake-sensei. Wataru reminds me of Shuffle!‘s Kareha when she goes into starry-eyed mode. Also, I didn’t know those glasses had such a powerful ability!

The subchar I liked the most was… Maebara!! She only appears in Hime’s route and is Haruki’s kouhai from a previous school. But… she doesn’t even have a picture and only has like two dozen lines. Am I weird for liking a character based only on sound!? I must be attracted to kouhai-types…

I bet you liked her because you could sense the loli with her still being in middle school. Don’t lie by using kouhai! It is just that she’s loli!

TR_Iori

SANAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Overall, the characters were ok. I thought Aoi was too bland and Yukari was WAY too S.

Micchi’s character rankings:
Sana, Hime, Mahiro, Aoi, Ruri, Yukari

Characters really are what made Tenshin worth playing (especially Sana). Though only about half of them had interesting routes the characters themselves were not badly done and cover a rather broad range of personality types. Some of which are rather rare.

Zen’s character rankings:
Hime, Mahiro, Yukari, Aoi, Sana, Ruri

Graphics

TR_CG5

The artwork for Tenshin Ranman are by Mururin and Kobuichi. The CGs and backgrounds are where this game shines. Coupled with the HD quality, the art is really well done and captures the sentimental moments quite nicely. I thought some of the eyes were a little bit off. There was a CG for epilogues too, which I generally loved since it felt like an ending. I was extremely impressed with the background quality; there’s so much detail. The tachi-e had lots of variation and there was a lot of movement on screen too.

My only complaint is that I would’ve loved to see more non-H CGs, as well as more group shots.

TR_SD3

The SD CGs are pretty standard, but there were some I really liked, such as the one with Haruki and Sana at the movie theater. So cute!

TR_SD2

I have to agree about the artwork being generally above par. As well as with there not being enough non H CGs.

To be honest while I liked the widescreen I felt it was entirely useless for the most part. I cannot really think of any point at which widescreen was taken advantage of. There were mostly normal sized images placed on a wider background. As such I can’t see the point of even making the game widescreen other than to use it as a gimmick to help sales.

However I feel that a lot of the emotional moments had somewhat bland shading which hindered the capture of emotion properly. When doing night and sunset type shots the shading really helps bring out the emotion of the scene and I for one felt it was a bit lacking, giving off an almost inorganic mechanical feel.

There were also a few scenes the most notable of which being the final Hime H scene that gave me a feeling of perspective being lost completely. In that particular scene the scale of Hime’s head to her body made her look rather loli. There were a few other scenes which repeated the same mistake, surely nothing major but still a minor flaw.

System

TR_Interface

Widescreen HD! Woohoo!!! It looks so good. *drools*

The textbox is the usual and isn’t obstructive. It’s quite pink, like in Flyable Heart, but I don’t have a problem with it (although someone else might). Portrait shots of the talking character are shown on the left side. There are quick save/load, save/load and system config along the bottom, as well as the standard auto and skip functions. It is also possible to skip to the next choice or move back to the previous one. However, there’s a bit of delay as it skips forward (the date is shown on the bottom left).

I am in love with the keyboard shortcuts. Honestly, every game should have them. I can play the entire game without touching the mouse once. This was the also the first time I actually used quicksave/load a lot since it was so convenient. There are 90 save slots available, which is more than enough.

TR_Options

There a lot of options that allow you to customize the interface as you wish. I just lowered the BGM setting a bit. The highest dimension for the windowed mode is 1280 x 720, which I highly suggest. An interesting feature they used is background voices, such as other characters talking in the background while Haruki is talking to someone else. You can also turn off looped background voices sounds during H scenes from here if you wish.

TR_Chara_Intro

When characters are introduced at the beginning of the game, their name pops up to tell you who they are. Pretty nifty idea.

TR_Date_Change

When the date changes in-game, it is written on the blackboard. During the common route, there will be drawings and other generally funny stuff drawn on it.  After the beach outing, Haruki’s name will be written on the right along with the heroine you’re locked with. After their relationship takes the next step, their names (in the way they address each other) will be written under the ai ai gasa (love umbrella).

TR_Map_Select

Along with the usual choices, there is a map select screen with SD chars that change when you hover over them. Cute chibis.

TR_Extra_Mode

After you finish one route, the extra mode will be available off the title screen. The CG mode (regular CGs and SDs), scene/OP/ED replay and music mode are all accessible off this screen. Note that some in-game item pictures and CGs are not available, such as the club activity CGs.

As I mentioned to Micchi prior to the review, just like FH I felt the Pink was overdone. Apparently it is just me who dislikes that color being everywhere I look but I will steadfastly stick to my condemnation of Pink overload.

On to more constructive topics I must say that I did like the fact the load screen was in blue while the save screen was pink. This helped avoid something I do a lot when tired… load when trying to save. Always a face palming moment when you realize you just loaded a save from a few hours ago instead of saving the game.

Character introductions were a nice touch that helped speed up the flow of the game.. and thank god for that. I can only imagine how long things would have dragged on had they not done a speedy introduction blurb for each. Actually this is something I would like to see a lot more of. It would help avoid awkward introductory events and situations. As well as gives us a clear outline of the relationships right from the start. Allowing the writers to get right into the story.

The skip to unread function took so long it annoyed me quite a bit. Call me impatient but I would have preferred either an individual scene skip option or an instant skip to unread option.

Sound

There are 36 tracks in the Music Mode, including the OP and ED. The BGMs are probably the weakest part of the game. I thought they were mostly forgettable. The OP is catchy, but the ED was a bit of a letdown. With a great seiyuu cast, the character voicing was pretty much top-notch. Absolutely no complaints from me, especially with Agumi Oto voicing Sana. That makes at least 5 imouto chars of hers that I liked.

The music in Tenshin was standard fare. Nothing really stood out at all to me. In fact the bland music is partly to blame for putting me to sleep. Eventually I just muted the music and played my own songs in the background.

On the other hand the option to repeat voices in H scenes I felt was a nice touch that could have been done better. That is to say I did like that it removed the stop and go feeling when the voices cut out which does not help the mood. However the repetition is too short and has no randomizer, the combination of which leads to it being a roughly 5-10 second or so repeat. When repeating so often the voice becomes nothing but annoying and far too vocal, ends up sounding like a cheap porn movie. If you are like me and do not always wait for the voices then this compounds the issue to some degree with the cut off and resuming of the vocal tracks.

That aside, the trying to suck up the last bit of a slushie slurping noises that are pretty much a standard still annoy me. I cannot comprehend where or how they get such a terrible sound effect. Seems that this particular sound is a plague that has infested eroge sound effects.

H Scenes

TR_Sana_HCG

Each of the 4 heroines and 2 subheroines has between 3 and 4 H scenes, with 1-2 positions per scene. The length is decent and the timing is well done as well, although I would’ve preferred to have no H scenes in some of the epilogues. There’s a choice to finish inside or outside, as well some others, such as Sana’s choice of underwear for her second H scene.

For a game that is pure love, there sure a lot of fetishes covered, including blindfolding, hadaka apron, vibrator use, footjobs and 3p. However, it didn’t quite reach the level of FairChild. I loved the use of looping background voices when the heroine isn’t talking since it makes the scene less disjointed. I didn’t like the slurping noises for Yukari and Ruri.

TR_Aoi_HCG

Personally, I thought Sana’s masturbation scene from her point of view, as well as her hadaka apron scene and Aoi’s waitress outfit one were the best. All of Yukari’s H scenes scared me. Also, Ruri’s was not quite as bad as Kururi’s from FH, although damn she’s small.

H scenes were fairly well balanced in Tenshin not being too long nor too short. Though some were somewhat awkwardly placed with little development to lead into them (I am looking at you Yukari). This placement often gave me the feel that the H scenes were being forced into the story for the sake of having more H scenes. Rather than having a natural flow of plot development that leads into them. Even when there was enough development the methods used to bring the story into an H scene felt very purposefully contrived.

Ruri I did not want to be around at all so rather than feeling guilty as I did with Kururi it was more of a fast forward till my ctrl key wears out.

Overall

All of Micchi’s reviews will be rated by assigning scores out of 10 to each of the following categories: Scenario, characters, graphics, system, sound, and H scenes. Half marks may be given. The scoring is as follows:

  • 10 – Absolutely satisfied
  • 9 – Among the best, only minor improvements
  • 8 – Good overall
  • 7 – Average, a mix of good and bad
  • 6 – Below average, slightly disappointing
  • <5 – Very disappointed

The overall score is a weighted sum (3x Scenario + 2x Characters + 2x Graphics + 1x System + 1x Sound + 1x H scenes) for a total out of 100.

  • Scenario: 7.5
  • Characters: 8.5
  • Graphics: 9
  • System: 9.5
  • Sound: 7
  • H Scenes: 8
  • Overall: 82

As expected from YuzuSoft, Tenshin Ranman is a moe game with likeable characters and great graphics. The storylines could’ve been written up better, but they were satisfying nevertheless. Especially Sana’s. I proclaim this as an imouto game.

  • Scenario: 6
  • Characters: 8
  • Graphics: 7
  • System: 9
  • Sound: 6
  • H Scenes: 7
  • Overall: 70

In the end Tenshin was a solid eroge. While nothing spectacular it does deliver as a good game that is worth a read. As I don’t have an unhealthy obsession over Sana I cannot say the game lives up to the hype.

Excuse me while I go play Sana’s route again. (This makes how many times now?)

TR_CG6

「私、今...凄く、幸せです♪」

Oh yeah, don’t forget to vote for your favorite!
Found you!
Gotta go~!
… nii-san…

Entry filed under: Reviews. Tags: , , , , .

Nendoroid Riannon Webclaps and Magic Mirrors

36 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hemisphere  |  June 18, 2009 at 2:01 am

    Sakuya is the best. \o/

    Reply
    • 2. Kresnik  |  June 18, 2009 at 3:23 am

      You got that right, Hemi! \o/
      Mahiro and Yukari are just trailing behind her, while the other, oh well..

      Reply
    • 3. Zen  |  June 18, 2009 at 5:15 pm

      Other people with good taste! I Salute you both!

      Reply
      • 4. Micchi  |  June 18, 2009 at 9:11 pm

        Where’s my backup!?

        Reply
        • 5. m3rryweather  |  June 26, 2009 at 10:42 am

          Sorry guys, but I’m not guruguru’d into a mindless zombie like the rest of you fools! Sana 4 DA WIN!

        • 6. Zen  |  June 26, 2009 at 5:45 pm

          So, you would rather have a hobo? Sana is the reason parents tell kids not to pick things up off the street.

        • 7. m3rryweather  |  June 27, 2009 at 8:15 pm

          If I had to choose between being generous to a cute hobo bishoujo or accepting a mail-order bride, I’d choose the former you sick, sick man.

        • 8. Zen  |  June 27, 2009 at 10:15 pm

          Indeed, abducting a random loli hobo to pretend to be your little sister.. All to engage in an incestuous relationship with her is the epitome of a well adjusted mindset you normal, normal man.

          I’ll take the mail order bride, thanks. At the very least shes of age and doesn’t need to call me “Nii san” to be cute.

        • 9. m3rryweather  |  June 27, 2009 at 11:35 pm

          A. Generally, the homeless are already abandoned by society. Hence, it wouldn’t be abduction as there is no one to take from.

          B. Anime law states non-blood relatives are viable.

          C. Mail-order brides are usually connected to human trafficking and domestic slavery.

          I see where your preferences lie.

        • 10. Zen  |  June 28, 2009 at 12:46 am

          @A you pretty much said that since she was abandoned by society Sana is now worthless as there is no value to her. Therefore it is ok to take her since no one cares. Glad to see you admitted to Sana being inferior to Hime.

          @B Hence I said pretend. Simply stating picking her up in order to fulfill your incest fantasies. Not that it actually was.

          @C And picking up a random child on the side of the road and forcing her to do all of the domestic chores, cooking, cleaning, etc is not slavery? At least Hime was treated well.

        • 11. m3rryweather  |  June 28, 2009 at 5:35 am

          Wow, I didn’t think this conversation/debate will last this long but I see you’re still up to the challenge with great fervor and not holding back. I congratulate you for keeping up this far. Here I go again with the ABC’s. xP

          A. I see you do not think so highly to the homeless and equal them in your own words as “no value.” I have great pity for you and your belief. I don’ believe it lowers Sana’s value as an individual and I presuppose this is where we disagree.

          B. Fair enough. I have no disagreement with your choice of words. It’s not truly incest unless it’s by blood!

          C. Disregarding your presupposition that adopting a child means forcing her to cook and do chores, at least she is consensually able to unlike Hime’s poisonous charcoal home cooked meals.

        • 12. Zen  |  June 28, 2009 at 11:40 pm

          Well it is a fun conversation, so why not? So then once again from the top!

          A. As far as the hobo issue, your statement implied that doing whatever to a homeless person was ok because they were abandoned by society. Thus as you are not depriving anyone of their company there is no one to complain. This implies that Sana has no value to anyone so it is just fine if she is kidnapped and forced into a life of domestic slavery.

          B. Nothing to add here!

          C. I never supposed anything about adopting. Mainly pointing out that in the context of Sana, she was abducted and forced into servitude. As far as her consent, that point can be argued that it was either do the chores or back to the street. Could even be suggested that originally she was forced but has accepted it as her role since.

          All of that aside Hime’s cooking tasted quite good if you recall. I feel that perhaps you should not be so hung up on appearances and look a bit deeper. May help you see more value in Hime and not just sana for being an imouto.

        • 13. m3rryweather  |  June 29, 2009 at 2:19 am

          I sort of wish you guys have spoiler tags for my followup. Bug Micchi for me will ya?

          Since point B is made clear I’ll refrain from adding anything more.

          Point A:

          I think we’re having a bit of trouble differentiating between what is described as value. From your past statements, value is assigned based on the people’s attention and care. When I’m talking about value, I state that there is value in a person regardless of that factor. Even if society itself does not place a value on a person, I don’t think it necessarily means that person is therefore without value. Just because someone is abandoned, doesn’t necessarily mean that person holds no value.

          Secondly, I said the word ‘generally’. Haruki is an exceptional outlier to the paradigm and sees value in Sana even though she is abandoned. So Sana is not as you say without value.

          Thirdly, if I had implied that people who are labelled by society as ‘without value’ are literally so, than it is a misunderstanding. Since you are referring to my personal individual values as I am the one choosing Sana, I contradict with the societal norms.

          Fourth, I’m not going to comment about the last sentence as that is your opinion and not mine.

          For point C, I think I already stated why taking in Sana in her situation would not be called abduction.

          Secondly, while her choices are certainly grim, she did choose to follow Haruki and initially it was initially supposed to be a temporary stay and not as you put it, “forced into servitude.” While it is certainly a possibility that she could be “forced into her role,” that is all it is. Without actual evidence your claim, it is only a hypothetical possibility.

          Disregarding the whole cooking debacle, I am still in favor of Sana and find inner qualities which are superior to Hime. I’d elaborate more, but I feel this comment is growing too long and it’ll be better to state them in my possibly next one or in my upcoming never published review.

        • 14. Micchi  |  June 29, 2009 at 3:06 am

          Are you guys trying to make the comments longer than the review? LOL

          Anyways, I am extremely biased agree with m3rry, especially on the ‘forced into servitude’ part. While a possibility, it is only one of many. If you are so inclined to believe that, then feel free to do so. Differences in taste are just that. The poll now shows them pretty much even. Thanks for voting, everyone!

          I’ve talked for days with Zen the Complainer about it and I have concluded that he has been thoroughly gurugurued. ^o^

          And m3rry, write that review! I want to see it!

  • 15. Sheep  |  June 18, 2009 at 2:07 am

    Wow I want to play so badly

    Reply
  • 16. ko  |  June 18, 2009 at 3:02 am

    I want to play this game even more now. Sana-chan is the best imouto ever ^^

    Reply
    • 17. Micchi  |  June 18, 2009 at 9:12 pm

      Agreed! :3

      Reply
  • 18. Zeroblade  |  June 18, 2009 at 7:04 am

    AHH. I have to get to this. After Akatsuki no Goei… and BALDR SKY… and Tayutama orz

    Reply
  • 19. Ryouichi  |  June 18, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    Hime is winning! And I’ll be playing this after I finish FlyableHearts, since i finally got home and away from the 50kb/s DL cap that they forced on me at college =.=.

    Reply
  • 20. m3rryweather  |  June 19, 2009 at 12:14 am

    As much as I like Sakuya, I didn’t like her route mainly because of Sakuya’s…reaction to the conflict at hand.

    I’m glad Mahiro is not on this poll because she’s mine and it’s hands off to everyone else.

    @Zeroblade: good luck 0_0

    Reply
  • 21. accany  |  June 19, 2009 at 11:42 am

    God why only those two. I liked Aoi. And Mashiro. Sana made me sleep. Zen, I guess I’m not suited for this. XD

    Reply
    • 22. Micchi  |  June 19, 2009 at 6:59 pm

      Because it’s Honoka’s poll ;p We had so much fun making that.

      Mashiro!?!?!?!?

      Reply
      • 23. accany  |  June 19, 2009 at 8:09 pm

        Mahiro. I keep mixing her name up with Mashiro’s. Guess my Tayutama fever is not gone yet.

        Reply
  • 24. m3rryweather  |  June 21, 2009 at 12:49 am

    This and the dakimakura poll greatly contrast each other. 0_0

    Reply
    • 25. Micchi  |  June 21, 2009 at 1:21 am

      Imouto lovers band together!

      Reply
  • 26. Algester  |  June 21, 2009 at 1:28 am

    yeah its official were ganna get a sana dakimakura XD

    Reply
  • […] to some other suckers helpful bloggers, I don’t have to write a summary! YES! Moving […]

    Reply
  • […] finally played the game that everyone and their dog already played. Since another full review seems pointless, I only bothered playing […]

    Reply
  • 29. Blablablaa..  |  March 22, 2010 at 5:54 pm

    When does Tenshin Ranman come?

    Reply
    • 30. Micchi  |  March 22, 2010 at 7:43 pm

      Tenshin Ranman is a game, which is out already. Same with the PSP adaptation, Tenshin Ranman Happy Go Lucky!!. There are no plans for an anime or manga, nor do I foresee one as the story doesn’t lend itself to such an adaptation easily… unless they focus on one route, which would make some people unhappy.

      Reply
  • 31. Flamzey  |  March 26, 2010 at 8:22 am

    Sana \o/
    Her route was awesome and the ending was sweet~

    I liked Hime’s route too…the ending was a tad unexpected though o_O
    Ruri’s route was nice too as it provided brackground info on the curse.

    I noticed the Wataru/Kareha gig too…it was quite funny XD

    But, out of all subcharacters, I liked Honoka the most, she’s lively, likes to tease her friends and is just cute _>

    Reply
    • 32. Micchi  |  March 26, 2010 at 10:53 pm

      Sana \o/

      I agree Honoka’s awesome. I wish she got her own route (even if it’s short) instead of just being a bonus add-on with Aoi.

      Reply
  • 33. Aria  |  April 24, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    Wakaba(CV Yukana) from the new psp version is awesome. I strongly suggest playing psp version because since they removed the H scenes(which is both good and bad), i find it interesting how they fill up the parts that are supposed to have been H scenes. Wakaba is without a doubt my new favorite. Wish they made the boy who follows Wakaba around a girl T.T or made a route for him and turned him into a girl somehow at some point XD(i mean there’s god power right? XD)

    Reply
    • 34. Micchi  |  May 1, 2010 at 5:54 pm

      Maybe if you wished hard enough, he will turn into a girl!

      Thanks for the info about HGL. I wanted that Sana ofuro scene!

      Reply
  • 35. Coco  |  January 3, 2011 at 9:11 am

    KAWAII~~!!! SANAAAAAAAAAA~~!! *steal her away*

    Reply
  • 36. RockinNight  |  April 13, 2011 at 5:10 am

    I really enjoyed this game. A few laughs here and there. When I found out there were some differences in the dialogue between the PC and PSP (not just the H-Scenes) I just had to see it for myself if they improved the scenarios as well. Wakaba’s route…hm I’d like to call it Haruki’s route as well. Hah
    A VN that actually cared about the protagonist. Rare for me at least since I’m usually playing really horrible ones since there’s just almost no good VNs with Yandere genres. X_X
    There were some odd CG moments for the PSP. Like Yukari all of a sudden had blue eyes while at the beach. A change in staff?
    Unfortunately I played ExE before this and I can’t help myself from thinking Aoi=Momiji trying to live a better life. Same seiyuus hurt my head. -_-

    Sana IS the BEST!!111!!!11SHIFT!1!SHIFT!!1
    (as a little sister)
    I was a bit disappointed when there was no marriage endings for Mahiro and Yukari. (._. ) Sure they’re just subs but still!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I'm no longer making any eroge posts nor actively updating the upcoming releases. Thanks for following the blog through all these years and hope that it has been helpful. Please continue to support the eroge industry and love your imoutos!

Micchi

Upcoming releases

Last updated: 02/06