Winter 2010 Anime

January 4, 2010 at 11:27 pm 13 comments

Winter seasons are short and usually have nothing good. It’s not exception this time around. There are no eroge adaptations this season and the only game adaptation is Ookamikakushi. All three of us will be giving a few comments on selected series. For summaries, please refer to Omni‘s preview and Chartfag‘s poster. Most screenshots are from ASCII.jp.

Weiß Survive R (12/04 Fri)

Well, this sequel has been going on for a month by now. I just felt like including it here since there’s a naked girl covered by TCGs.

Cardbattles and fanservice lumped into one anime. As this is a sequel, I would have to see the first season so I don’t think I’ll pick this up. But seeing them turn chibi for battles does amuse me.

Yu Gi Oh with fanservice? I think gouging my eyes out with a flaming metal rod would be far more pleasant.

Harukana Toki no Naka de 3: Owaranaki Unmei (01/03 Sun)

I was more interested in the Man Miracle Train than this. Not because of Akari. Really.

This heavily reminds me of Fushigi Yuugi with the heroine off to save the world surrounded and protected by a number of bishounen men. Sounds better than Miracle Train, but I think I’ll pass seeing three seasons of this. I had enough of the Suzaku Seven ^_^

Shoujo, uhh also its a shoujo, for those of you who may not know already, I loathe the shoujo genre. Even were it not a shoujo plotline, I would hate this as the setup is boring and predictable.

Chuu Bra! (01/04 Mon)

This is one of the most ridiculous ideas for a club ever. I can’t see this as anything other than blatant fanservice à la Queen’s Blade.

Middle schoolers, fanservice and an underwear club. That is the whole series summed up. Micchi-senpai was right about the winter season >_

Whoever came up with this idea had to be one horny guy. A story that is basically completely about nothing save fanservice… and I thought Queens Blade was bad, at least you can laugh at that one… This on the other hand makes me wonder why Japan keeps trying to upstage how little faith I can have in humanity.

Sora no Oto (01/04 Mon)

The story follows Yui Kumika who joins the light music club military even though she doesn’t know how to play the guitar trumpet. However, with the help of the other 4 girls in the club garrison, she learns how to create music fitting for a performance that reverberates across the war-torn lands. Yup. I personally think the design isn’t fitting for a war-based anime.

I was thinking K-ON! season 2 when I saw the promo images for it. The main cast already resembles 4/5 of the K-ON! cast! But moving on, I’ll probably pick this series up. I feel it has some potential compared to the current series offered this season with its original story.

Not only is this a complete ripoff of a popular series, but it is done in the most tacky way possible. I expect this to be similar to a certain other series while providing plenty of silly, unrealistic war drama. I expect lots of predictable and over the top dramatic moments that make anyone who has so much free time they end up watching this to facepalm and consider suicide. Garbage like this series are why I don’t really watch as much anime as I used to.

Seikon no Qwaser (01/04 Mon)

Looks interesting, then I read the plot. Pass.

I don’t know what to say to recharging your powers by breastfeeding. Just that concept alone makes me wonder if that’s all they have to offer here.

I really tried to give this manga a shot, I read a fair bit before it was so bad I just could not go on. The plot follows Sasha if I recall right, a little Russian boy who can control the element of iron. Doesn’t seem all that terrible till all of the suckling on breasts comes into play. If it was a skillfully used plot element fine, but basing it on a painting, and how its being employed to regenerate powers is just tear your hair out stupid. I would not inflict the pain of watching this series upon someone whom I mildly detested.

Gag Manga Biyori (01/04 Mon)

As Zen mentions below, nothing tops Excel and Poemi.

This is probably not something I want to follow as I hate clicking through all those Hetalia Axis Powers episodes every five minutes. But I think I rather check out the manga source material given its nature.

Silly comedy is too easy. If I was in the mood for something like this I would watch Puni Puni Poemi or Excel saga again.

Ladies versus Butlers! (01/05 Tue)

My comedy/fanservice pick for this season. I don’t think I’ve ever seen Selenia’s hair style before…

This series might be entertaining, but the Kanokon art style may indicate otherwise. The first episode should be a helpful preview of the series. I would rather have a third season of Hayate No Gotoku though!

I like a good comedy series you can just sit back and watch for the laughs while not having to worry too much about following the plot or serious elements. I find these shows to be a good method of relaxation, or something to run on a separate screen while working. Given the silly plot of a delinquent looking teenager serving as a butler to a bunch of quirky ojousamas I will probably watch this during downtime from anything else I am doing. As long as you don’t expect this to have an award winning story or look for anything more than your usual comedy this shouldn’t be a bad choice. Besides where else can you find a delinquent who wants to become a bride?

Omamori Himari (01/06 Wed)

A couple years ago, I considered picking this manga up and instead ended up following Honoka Lv. Up!. So, I’ll definitely check this out considering the characters are cute.

This reminds me a bit of Wagaya no Oinarisama, as we have an animal demon girl protecting a young boy. I’ll probably enjoy it seeing that I like supernatural themes and demons despite the fact that it’ll be a comedy. Need some nekomimi this season anyway :3

One of my guilty pleasures, I found that I rather liked the manga, to the point it is one of my favorites. Considering her protecting him isn’t because he is useless but rather developing helps a lot.. I hate themes similar to Sekirei. While I enjoy the comedy in use during this series, the fact it does have a plot to parallel the comedy and fanservice is what really seals the deal for me. So to sum things up this is probably my top priority this season, and not only because I find Himari adorable.

Baka to Test to Shoukanjuu (01/06 Wed)

Cute chibi chars? Fantasy battles? Where do I sign up?

The chibi avatar battle theme has already guaranteed this series on my to watch list. The trailers also make it seem fun enough to watch ^_^

I read a bit of the light novel, but this series really feels a bit predictable. Not sure I even like the core concept, fun though it may be to imagine actually being in that situation, it does not seem all that great in terms of being good story material. I suspect most people (Such as Micchi) will take a peek at this just for the cute characters.

Dance in the Vampire Bund (01/07 Thu)

Not really interested, although I’m sure SHAFT will do a good job adapting it. Mina reminds me of Negima‘s Evangeline.

Despite the explicit content, I do think this series that SHAFT will be working on will probably be good. I mean, it can’t be worse than Twilight, right? It should be visually stunning at least given their track record.

I cannot say I much like her voice, it really sounds off to me, as though it does not match her character. Anyway I have been reading the manga for this series as well and I enjoyed the read so I will be watching this series. Only real problem I have with it is how anything involving vampires brings out all those annoying emo kids. I expect a fandom similar to higurashi, with people who think liking something because there is some blood in it makes them rebellious, edgy, and cool. Ah well, I’ll just keep the fact I watch it a secret between us then.

Durarara!! (01/07 Thu)

The unique mix of characters and vague plot warrants at least one episode just to figure out how this will be like.

I can’t tell too much of the plot from what I’ve read and saw, but I do feel interested in seeing this series. As this is from the same creator as Baccano (which I’ve been meaning to watch as people keep telling me to) I think it should be worth checking out a few episodes.

I never did watch Baccano so I have no opinions on the author, I may just watch an episode or two to see how this plays out.

Hidamari Sketch ☆☆☆ (01/07 Thu)

Yunocchi~~~~~~~ ( ‘  w      ‘ x)

I’m still working my way through the first season. I do like the characters, but the pace of the anime feels pretty slow to me. I should try watching it when I’m not sleepy >_<;

Seriously when is this series going to end.

Ookamikakushi (01/07 Thu)

Oh, Ryukishi’s involved in this too. No wonder he doesn’t have time for Rewrite. Regardless, the PSP game did well, so we’ll see how this adaptation goes.

Ryukishi07’s Higurashi no Naku Koro Ni and Umineko no Naku Koro Ni games had an incredible story. But after the airing of Umineko, I’m not sure if any studios are able to adapt this new story into an anime series. Fortunately Studio DEEN is no longer working on it, and I’ll be able to watch this series with a fresh perspective as I don’t know any major plot points this time around.

Considering the person responsible for the utter travesties that were Higurashi and Umineko is working on this I am wary to say the very least. On the other hand there are other people involved who may slap the stupid out of him. So if I am feeling particularly brave, bored, or Masochistic one day I may decide to watch a bit and hope that perhaps there can be a little redemption from releasing the plague that is Higurashi, by making a similar concept with a story is at the very least average.

Kaitou Reinya (01/09 Sat)

Didn’t Kaitou Saint Tail do this already?

I’ll pass on this. Definitely.

Childish, and silly, what more do you need to convince yourself this is nothing but a punishment game in disguise.

Hanamaru Yochien (01/10 Sun)

Very cute; definitely reminds me of Potemayo. While I don’t know who would envision kindergarteners having anything close to a love interest, if they make it cute and heartwarming, it should be fine. I’ll be watching this. You guys are reading too much into things.

I don’t think I would be happy to find that my five year old has a crush on her teacher. Aside from that it does look to be a silly series. Thankfully it won’t resemble Kodomo no Jikan.

After being severely traumatized by exposure to tiny bit of Kodomo no Jikan, the thought that there may be something remotely similar drives me to shivering in a corner. If you happen to be a pedophile, or even a closet pedophile who does not which to admit it this is the series for you! As such I recommend this series for you Micchi.

Nodame Cantabile Finale (01/14 Thu)

As much as some people rave about this series, I haven’t watched any of it, so obviously I’ll be passing.

I loved reading the manga when I first picked it up. I have yet to see the anime, but I’m sure I’ll be seeing this as soon as I catch up on what I have to watch.

I fell asleep just reading the summary to this as a manga, so unless I have a bout of insomnia nothing else including head trauma can cure, I will not be watching this one.

Katanagatari

The art style has a somewhat retro feel. I don’t like the fact that it’s aired once a month though. I lose interest fast enough as is.

As this is from the guy who did Bakemonogatari, I feel compelled to watch this. The animation studio taking care of his project this time isn’t SHAFT, but hopefully his stories should retain the same quality and transition well into anime form.

After Bakemonogatari I am interested in seeing what the author will come up with this time, which I am sure is the reason most people are going to give this a shot. Not too sure about the setup, although I did not particularly like the setup for Bakemonogatari either when simply reading about it. While I won’t say this is a must watch since I have not read the light novels, I would definitely say this should be worth giving it a chance.

Heartcatch Precure!

Even for me, this is too girly.

I’ll stay away from this magical girl franchise. I rather dip back into Kamen Rider for my dose of henshin heroes.

Tee hee, soo kaawwaaaaiiiiiiiii~~~~neee!? >_<;; I LOVE <3<3<3 cute little girls in pink kicking some bad guys a$$, but then who doesn’t nee (^. ^)!!!!!? The mascots are so KAWAIIII~<3<3<3  I want to hug them and never let go ( X .x) LOLOLOLOOL! Any h8ers who can’t admit they like this, are just insecure! Heartcatch is a work of genius!!!!!! IT IS IMPOSSIBLE TO DISAGREE, IT IS A FACT THIS IS THE BEST SHOW EVARRR!!!!!

Sigh… if only I could be more convincing…. someone teach me how to type like an excited little girl for future reference please!

For starters, they’d call it Precure, not Heartcatch.

Oh, and Koizumi is AWESOME.

Entry filed under: Anime. Tags: , , , , .

Fresh Nendoroids from Comiket 77 A Happy End for Kotori

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. m3rryweather  |  January 5, 2010 at 12:21 am

    You people are forgetting the most awesome series that will ever hit this season.

    Reply
  • 2. Wrathkal  |  January 5, 2010 at 7:08 am

    The first thing I was thinking as I read through the list was ‘lucky there’s no eroge adaptation, or else I’d be tempted to d/l and play it as I watch’. That said, I’ll be going for the manga adaptations, like Bakatesto, Ladies vs Butlers, and Omamori Himari. Extras may or may not be included.

    As for m3rry’s recommendation… It’s definitely worth catching.

    Reply
  • 3. GarethXL  |  January 5, 2010 at 10:16 am

    LvB 1st ep actually got me interested in the animated adaptation, originally was planing to skip it due to the bad adaptation of the comic.

    you didn’t list cobra

    hoping baka test anime adaptation is better then the comic

    you need emoticon and stu.. leet speak to sound like a deran…exited little girl zen

    hanamaru looks cute :3, no underlining motive here >.>

    and yes although i haven’t seen koizumi yet it is awesome

    Reply
  • 4. Reltair  |  January 6, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    A few hopefully good series this season, but meh.

    Koizumi was gg – sorry but a fighter jet can’t catch up to an ICBM.

    Reply
    • 5. kgptzac  |  January 20, 2010 at 1:44 pm

      wow that koizumi is pure win… if kinda beats every show listed above lol

      Reply
  • 6. Radiant  |  January 6, 2010 at 6:14 pm

    So looking forward to Nodame! Some of the other series look good too, while others are definitely questionable. :)

    Reply
  • 7. Moriken  |  January 8, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    Durarara!! is cool. I seem to love those big city-scenarios (same as in Oretsuba, loved the atmosphere), and the writer from Baccano is just…a winning combination.

    Reply
    • 8. GarethXL  |  January 9, 2010 at 7:50 am

      have to agree here just finish the first ep and have to say it’s this year eden of the east.

      a must watch

      Reply
  • 9. 月下メロン  |  January 10, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    I will be watching Heartcatch Precure. I think me and GGT from NekoMagic are the only fans around orz

    And I really like ladies vs butlers but I was disappointed slightly with vampire bund. I hope it will pick up the pace soon. I hope it is more dark than comedy.

    Reply
  • 10. Micchi  |  January 10, 2010 at 5:56 pm

    @m3rry: I thought that wasn’t this season…

    @GarethXL: Ya, forgot Cobra. Too lazy to add it.

    @Reltair: A jet fighter may not be able to, but… a jet fighter piloted by Koizumi can!

    @Radiant: Questionable is definitely a good way of putting it.

    @Moriken: Ya, the atmosphere makes it feel better. Kinda like Darker Than Black.

    Reply
  • 11. Zakarum  |  January 11, 2010 at 4:34 pm

    Baka+Test may rival Sengoku BASARA in the “it’s so ridiculously silly that it’s awesome” category.
    Ladies v Butlers is the new Queen’s Blade in terms of topless fanservice. …except the fact that LvB is actually entertaining!

    We’ll see if they follow the novels (not manga) properly… one episode is certainly not enough anyway.

    We’ll throw in Oo-KamiKakushi for “most intriguing” but also “most room to get fucked up” as well.

    Overall, I agree that this season is pretty terrible overall though. Luckily there will be Ar Tonelico 3 at the end of the month to eat my available free time for a good while!

    Reply
  • 12. akani  |  January 11, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    The ones I’ll be following are Ookamikakushi (Higurashi+Umineko creator + Peach Pit = WIN), Baka to Test to Shoukanjuu (why isn’t my school like that?!), Sora no Woto (it’s really not exactly the same as K-ON…), Omamori Himari, Durarara!!, Dance in the Vampire Bund, and Katanagatari. I feel this season has less anime than all the rest but there are some possibly very good ones out there.

    Reply
  • 13. Aston  |  January 25, 2010 at 12:57 am

    Looks like the only decent ones to watch are Ladies versus Butlers! (already kept up with 3 episodes, kept me in it) and Omamori Himari (sappy beginning, seeing how it’ll play out).

    As for the rest, I don’t really care for them. Seikon no Qwaser caught my eye for a bit, then was thrown away in stupidity.

    I’ve also kept up with Durarara!!, although nothing interesting has happened yet.

    Looks like there’s not enough to watch this winter. Looking forward to some second seasons that were announced before. (K-ON! and some others I neglet/forget to mention).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


おかえりお兄ちゃん、お姉ちゃん!

Recent News


Webclap

Thank you, nii-san!

Latest Entries

Categories

いつでもスーパー妹タイム

Authors

Micchi

Imouto sensor ON
二次元妹は至高

nemuiwanko

Building up my nendoroid army

Zen

. . .

Upcoming Eroge

Last updated: 12/05

12/22
AstralAir no Shiroki Towa Finale
アストラエアの白き永遠 Finale -白き星の夢- 応援中!! Hoshifuru Yoru no Farnese
星降る夜のファルネーゼ応援中! Liber_7
Ryuukishi Bloody†Saga
『竜騎士 Bloody†Saga』を応援しています! Meguru Sekai de Towa Naru Chikai o!
スタジオエゴ最新作「廻るセカイで永遠なるチカイを!」情報公開中! Hakui no Tenshi wa Osewazuki
白衣の天使 応援バナー Zannen na Ane to no Love Comedy
残念な姉との幸福論(ラブコメディー) 応援中! Yuusei Tenshi Primaveil Drei Dark Mission
『遊聖天使プリマヴェールDrei ダークミッション』応援中! VenusBlood -RAGNAROK-
Zettai Junshu☆New Kozukuri World
Love Love Sisters
Shinsou Noise
Himekoi*Sucreine!
Amakano+
Amenity's Life
Hatsukoi Sankaime
Maji de Watashi ni Koi Shinasai! A
Honoguraki Toki no Hate Yori
Ou no Mimi ni wa Todokanai!
Akiyume Kukuru
Hoshizora Tea Party Extra
BALDR HEART EXE
Koi wa Yumemiru Mouretsu Girl!
12/29
Harmonia
01/27
Kanojo to Ore to Lovely Day
『彼女と俺の恋愛日常』応援中です! Hoshikoi*Tinkle
きゃべつそふと第一弾「星恋*ティンクル」応援中! Ninki Seiyuu no Tsukurikata
『人気声優のつくりかた』 Real Eroge Situation!
自宅すたじお 2nd Project『リアルエロゲシチュエーション!(リアエロ)』応援中! Fu'un to Kou'un to Koi Uranai no Tarot
『不運と幸運と恋占いのタロット』応援中! Silverio Trinity
『シルヴァリオ トリニティ』応援中! Mamono Musume no Sodatekata
Kimi no Hitomi ni Hit Me
Bitch Shimai ga Seijun na Hazu ga Nai!!
Kami-sama no Game
Ojou-sama wa Iinari Mitai Desu!?
Chiccha na Hanayome
Hi no Nai Tokoro ni Kemuri wa Tatanai
Tsukikage no Simulacre
Aikagi
Lamune 2
02/24
Ouka Sabaki
Ojou-sama no Hanbun wa Renai de Dekiteimasu!
Serufure
Onii-chan, Kiss no Junbi wa Mada Desu ka? FD
Tantei Seven
Shugaten!
Suisei Ginka
Noroi no Maken ni Yamitsuki Otome
Office ni Sasou Ecchi na Kanojo
03/24
Natsuiro Kokoro Log FD
Hearts『ナツイロココロログ Happy Summer』応援中です! Haruru Minamo ni
【はるるみなもに!】情報ページ公開中! Kamidanomi Shisugite Ore no Mirai ga Yabai.
HULOTTE『神頼みしすぎて俺の未来がヤバい。』 Haruoto Alice*Gram
Nanawind第四弾「春音*アリスグラム」応援中! Koinosu☆Ichacolize
Majo to Tsurugi to Sen no Tsuki
Hataraku Otaku no Ren'ai Jijou
Omoi o Sasageru Otome no Melody
Amanatsu Adolescence
03/31
Chrono Box
TRINOLINE
04/28
D.S. i.F.
D.S.i.F. -Dal Segno- in Future Ao no Kanata no Four Rhythm EXTRA1
Grisaia: Phantom Trigger Vol. 1
Grisaia: Phantom Trigger Vol. 2
Tayutama 2 FD
Niizuma LOVELY×CATION
05/26
Anata ni Koisuru Ren'ai Recette
Recently announced
Chuuni Hime no Teikoku
Omokage Railback
Bokura no Sekai ni Shukufuku o.
Hitotsu no Yane no, Tsubasa no Shita de
Alice Muppet
Momoiro Guardian EX
kano-tsuku
Rance 10
Shin Koihime†Musou -Kakumei-
Yume to Iro de Dekiteiru
Randoseru Syndrome
Aoiro Note
Saihate★Frontier
Ama no Shoujo
Toki*Sora
Pure Marriage Sakura-hen
Pure Marriage Serika-hen
MIBURO
Bishoujo Mangekyou: Tsumi to Batsu no Shoujo
Ao no Kanata no Four Rhythm -ZWEI-
Tsukihime Remake
Majo to Ken to Sen no Tsuki
Renai Kyoushitsu
Iyashi no Megami no Marmot
Lost Echoes
Nora to Oujo to Noraneko Heart 2
nine -Episode 1-
Ojou-sama to Aware na Ko
Onii-chan Daisuki!
Tonari no Shoujo
Full Kiss
Newton to Ringo no Ki
Golden Hour
DependSpace DESERT RAIN FiNALIoN Gamer's Square Getchu.com りぺあ ~Patch Library~ かめのこおらの休憩所 愚者の館 新:誠也の部屋 萌えゲーアワード
からふる ぱれっとx365 Indico lite KOGE*2 HOUSE moeyo.com MOON PHASE 雑記 インターネットラジオステーション<音泉> Steparu.com

Feeds

Thank you for visiting!

  • 4,052,081 hits since Sept 2/08


