Figure Review: Nendoroid Amano Touko ~ Bungaku Shoujo

November 6, 2010 at 11:31 am 3 comments

Another month, another nendoroid. This time I bring you Amano Touko, the Bungaku Shoujo (Literature Girl). This will be the first time I’m covering a new release as she just came out on the end of October. I’m thankful for Hobby Search’s 50% shipping promotion, which allowed me to save money while purchasing her.

As for some background information, this character comes from a series of light novels. For those interested they can learn more about the character through the animated OVAs, movies, and manga available. Although I had no knowledge of the character when buying her, I found myself attracted to the braided twintails. Man I really can’t get enough of twintails can I?

The box this time around is a lot bigger than the standard nendoroid boxes. With a larger width, it’s the same size as the nendoroid Drossel figure box that came out awhile back. But luckily bigger boxes always mean more goodies! I was definitely delighted to find a large assortment of accessories with this nendoroid. Honestly I was fine with just having the cute braided twintail but they had to do more than that.

First of all this nendoroid comes with so many accessories that there isn’t even enough room to put it in the plastic display. They had to put the extra arm/leg/hand attachments in those plastic bags, which are located and taped behind the plastic display. With three faces, a hairpiece, can accessories, a chair, three books, and a skirt for the sitting position, this was already more than I expected.

Just having an extra pair of arms, hand attachments, shoes, and legs for sitting helped a lot to add more poseability for the figure. In addition, you get some stickers to aid with the page eating portion of the figure that you’ll see later. I’m not exactly sure what the bats and the skull sticker are for since I haven’t finished watching the bungaku shoujo movie.

Compared to the recent nendoroids that I reviewed, this nendoroid comes with a stand that resembles the common stand design that comes with nendoroids like Hatsune Miku and Al Azif. However, it has kept the ability to bend the support pole of the display stand like the recent K-ON! stands.

As usual, I had to make sure that the nendoroids are properly positioned so that they don’t weigh down and bend the pole too much. Keeping nendoroids leveled and straight is important as you don’t want them to look unnatural as they stand.

The setup for this nendoroid was no trouble as I found everything to fit in very smoothly. But I did find that the ends of the braided twintails tended to come off too easily. I had to reattach them very often, and now I just noticed in some pictures I had forgotten to attach it the right way so that the ribbon displays toward the front.

Thankfully attaching the variety of books to her hand attachments for a couple of different book holding poses were simple. Sometimes I find attaching accessories to be hellish as some items tend to break easily or have a hard time fitting with the designated pieces it’s supposed to connect to. For example, I still haven’t even managed to attach Pastel Ink’s lollipop to her hand as that just won’t go through so I couldn’t add that to the photos! It’s tough when you have to worry about breaking accessories, but luckily that isn’t the case for Amano Touko.

At least there weren’t any mishaps like with my fellow friend Giitaa.

Hau~ Omochikaeri!

Now there’s an example of me sticking the end of the twintail in the wrong direction on the left side. But this time around as you can see I tried to do as more poses for this review to show the usage of all the accessories and limb attachments. You end up being surprised at what you possibly make her do.

But now that I recall, the most limiting factor in preventing some poseability is her hair. Any nendoroid with long bangs will make it very hard to move the arms the way you want it to. It interferes with it so much that it can even push the arms out of it sockets as you try to position the head. It always takes some time getting used to it and you should try not to rub the arms against the hair so much as you may end up rubbing the paint onto the clothing.

I’m glad that this nendoroid has the most stable posing with a chair. Other nendoroids with chairs tend to be difficult to handle unlike this one. What makes this chair so special is the fact that the stand can connect with the chair to provide a good foundation so that the nendoroid can be supported.

As mentioned earlier, the sticker accessories help with her page eating activities. There are quite a number of them, but I suggest you shouldn’t leave them on the figure and try to conserve what you can by keeping it on the sticker sheet.

Hiiragi Tsukasa and Ink were the ones that were hard to handle when putting them on chairs. I felt like giving up trying to place Tsukasa onto that chair. It makes me very happy that the Amano Touko nendoroid has only minor issues. And doesn’t she look great eating pages from books xD

The first two faces that come with the nendoroid are adorable enough, but the third one is the main reason I bought this nendoroid. I mean WTF is this! I can’t help but have something this insane in my collection. This unique addition to the nendoroid is what I believe gives this nendoroid its special appeal. Sure there are silly faces that some nendoroids get, but this one transforms into something drastically different!


Not to mention I now possess a monster for my magical girls to fight!

Although I’m still wondering what the skull and bat stickers are supposed to adhere to. If you know, please comment :3

Final Thoughts

  • Amano Touko Nendoroid
  • Company: Good Smile Company
  • Release Date: Late October 2010
  • Price: 3334 Yen
  • Availability: Yes (As of this post)

I’m going to say that compared to her anime counterpart, this nendoroid is a lot more preferable. I didn’t find the animated version of her too appealing so this figure gives her a better image.

Her nendoroid design comes off as looking very clean. I like her blue oriented color scheme and also how her shoes end up being the only pink thing on her. The braided twintails are pretty nice in a world of popular unbraided twintails.

But of most importance is to consider is her fish monster form, which completely changes everything. No other nendoroid changes this much and has such a fitting accessory to match it. That can she rides in is also among the biggest accessories I’ve seen for nendoroids. In addition I like having the option of having her come off as cute or scary cute?

As for her price, she costs just as much as the Yui Nendoroid I reviewed. But considering the amount of items and things she comes with, this nendoroid definitely is worth more than the price she currently costs. It is such a bargain considering what it has to offer compared to the many nendoroids that are currently available.

Although the stand isn’t too different, it’s still easy to handle compared to what’s out there. But I have at the moment started liking the K-ON! stands as it provides a natural look for photos. And sure the ends of her twintails are a bit loose, but I don’t fear breaking anything off her.

Given everything about this nendoroid, I rate it very highly. In my opinion it is now one of my top nendoroids and I highly recommend it. Even though I’m still not too familiar with this character, I’m sure you could use a new twintail variation!

Side Comments

This time for my review I used a background from one of the photos I took in Japan. Can you guess the location? I’m still working on making some dioramas so hopefully I can use that for the next review if it works right.

Next time: Angel Beats Petit Nendoroids Sets #1-2

The battle against God and this God wears a school uniform?!

Entry filed under: Figures. Tags: , , , , .

November 2010 Eroge Releases Fall 2010 Anime Impressions

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. warum  |  November 7, 2010 at 1:30 am

    You end up being surprised at what you possibly make her do.

    FUFUFUFUFUFU…I mean uhhh look a fish girl!

    I like how her surstromming-can stand has the lid attachment, it really looks like she is crawling out of the can.

    Hmm, can’t tell what the picture in the background is…I can see old Japanese fashioned roof and trees…does make it feel like a club picnic…a literature club outing :D.

    The preview picture looks fun. High rises and mysterious challenger!? The focal point gives a pretty good feel too. Looking forward to it.

    Reply
  • 2. erogelist  |  November 11, 2010 at 1:33 pm

    oh shit, those figures are so cute and haruhi on the last pic seems nostalgic and brings back memories when i watched the anime.

    Reply
  • 3. nemuiwanko  |  November 19, 2010 at 2:01 am

    @warum – I was around the Imperial Palace at Tokyo when I took that picture. That place definitely looked good for a picnic when I was there xD Thanks for reading this latest one, and I hope I can manage the energy to do the angel beats set.

    @erogelist – Haruhi’s the second nendoroid I picked up, so she’s among the oldest nendoroids in my collection. But having these old figures sure bring back pleasant memories like you said ^_^

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


おかえりお兄ちゃん、お姉ちゃん!

Recent News


Webclap

Thank you, nii-san!

Latest Entries

Categories

いつでもスーパー妹タイム

Authors

Micchi

Imouto sensor ON
二次元妹は至高

nemuiwanko

Building up my nendoroid army

Zen

. . .

Upcoming Eroge

Last updated: 10/30

10/31
Unmei Senjou no Φ
『運命線上のφ』 2014年9月26日発売予定! Mayoeru Futari to Sekai no Subete
Hakoniwa Logic
Cabbit 第三弾!「箱庭のロジック」応援中! Tropical Vacation
Koiharu Adolescence
Eclair『恋春アドレセンス』応援 Aneyome Quartet
あねよめカルテット 応援バナー Daemon Busters
Kanojo to Ore to, Koisuru Resort
Kagura Douchuuki Sou
Himegoto Union Motto H! Ep4
Doushite, Sonna ni Kuroi Kami ga Suki Nano?
11/28
Ao no Kanata no Four Rhythm
『蒼の彼方のフォーリズム』 応援バナー spr002_bn01 Mousou Complete!
妄想コンプリート! Koisuru Kanojo no Bukiyou na Butai
【恋する彼女の不器用な舞台】 Kimi no Tonari de Koi Shiteru!
ALcotハニカム『キミのとなりで恋してる!』応援中! Sister Scheme 3
Hen Koi≒Kuro Rekishi
へんこい 変恋≒黒歴史を応援中! VenusBlood -HYPNO-
Bunny Paradise
SkyFish poco最新作『BunnyParadise ばにぱら~恋人全員バニー化計画~』を応援しています!! ChuSinGura 46+1 -Bushi no Kodou-
インレ『ChuSinGura46+1 -忠臣蔵46+1-武士の鼓動』 PENDULUM
Ero Manga!
Hotarubi no Shoujo
Harukaze Sensation!
Hanitsuma
Otome ga Kanaderu Koi no Aria
Cocoro@Function! NEO
Zannen na Ore-tachi no Seishun Jijou.
12/19
Kami no Ue no Mahoutsukai
ウグイスカグラ『紙の上の魔法使い』 Himawari to Koi no Kioku
『ヒマワリと恋の記憶』応援バナー200×40_1 Amakano
Harvest OverRay Reconnection
戯画『ハーヴェストオーバーレイ リコネクション』応援中! Hello, Lady! -New Division-
ハロー・レディ!- New Division - 応援中! Unionism Quartet
ユニオリズムカルテット 応援バナー企画参加中! Tsuki ni Yorisou Otome no Sahou 2
Kenseiki Alpha Ride
Natsu Kagura
Kanojo no Seiiki
12/26
Teito Hiten Daisakusen
Idol Mahou Shoujo Chiruchiru☆Michiru Part2
Prism Princess
Gakuen Butou no Folklore
01/30
Haru Kiss
戯画 『ハルキス』 応援中! Magical Canan 2
まじかるカナン2
Natsu no Iro no Nostalgia
Kishikano
Mainichi ga Harem Sugite Ore wa Yome o Kimerarenai!
1/7 no Mahoutsukai
Bishoujo Mangekyou Ch3
Sumire
Tokeijikake no Ley Line -Asagiri ni Chiru Hana-
Lautes Alltags
02/27
Kujiragami no Tear Stilla
鯨神のティアスティラ 応援バナー Sanoba Witch
Boku no Hitori Sensou
Sengo Muramasa
Ama Koi Syrups
Soreyori no Prologue
Sakura Synchronicity
Kamitsure
03/27
Hana no No ni Saku Utakata no
04/24
D.C.II Dearest Marriage
Recently announced
Nekopara Vol.1
『ネコぱら』 LOW-RISE!!!
はむはむソフト ろーらいず!!!応援バナー:銛山稟(アイドル名:盛山りんね)を応援します! Angel Beats!
Meguru Kisetsu no Yakusoku to, Tsunaida Sono Te no Nukumori to
Nekonade Distortion Renai Jishou no Dead End
Alice Muppet
Taiyou no Ko
Momoiro Guardian EX
Makki, Shoujo-byou
Project Gossip/Sick
Resign Override
Necromancer
kano-tsuku
Cocoro Rista!
Shoujo-tachi wa Kouya o Mezasu
Schwarzesmarken
Sakura no Uta
Koihime†Eiyuutan
Fuyu-bu Amaama Monogatari
Hyakugojuunenme no Mahoutsukai
Rance 10
Hanahime*Absolute!
Magical☆Dears
Sen no Hatou, Tsukisome no Kouki
Hanasaki Work Spring!
Anekouji Naoko to Giniro no Shinigami
FLOWERS Natsu-hen
Palette☆Style
Koinaka FD
Silverio Vendetta
Soushuu Senshinkan Gakuen Bansenjin
Akuma Musume no Kanban Ryouri
Re;Lord: Episode 2
Chrono Clock
Yuki Koi Melt
Pure×Connect
Ichibun no Ni Koigokoro
DependSpace DESERT RAIN FiNALIoN Gamer's Square Getchu.com りぺあ ~Patch Library~ かめのこおらの休憩所 地底天使 愚者の館 新:誠也の部屋 萌えゲーアワード
からふる ぱれっとx365 Indico lite KOGE*2 HOUSE moeyo.com MOON PHASE 雑記 インターネットラジオステーション<音泉> Steparu.com

Feeds

Thank you for visiting!

  • 2,902,717 hits since Sept 2/08


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 348 other followers

