Tastes Like Happiness

October 21, 2010 at 1:14 am 14 comments

After a 2 week delay since I just missed out on the last copy of Gekkou, the latest shipment of books has arrived! And it’s not a moment too soon as I just finished up the last light novel that I had previously (Galge no Sekai v3). This time around, I tried using BK1 instead of Amazon Japan due to cheaper shipping. On a shipment of about 17,000 yen, I saved about 4000 yen in shipping since BK1 calculates it on weight instead of per shipment/item like Amazon JP does. Not only that but I didn’t have to pay duties on my EMS shipment! And there’s also a points system and occasional vouchers. That’s more money in the bank for the next shipment.

Another thing I was wondering about was their packaging. The package is smaller than Amazon JP’s and the books inside are actually kept in better condition since they put books of the same size in a plastic cover, which was sealed tightly shut. With Amazon JP, there were times when I had books which had creased or bent corners because of the wrapping that was used. It also felt like not enough care was put into the packaging process. This was not the case here. Great packaging. Great book smell when you unwrap it. Ahhhhhhhhh.

Manga

  • Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai 1
  • Damekko Kissa Dear 2
  • Hidamari Sketch 5
  • Ichigo Mashimaro 6
  • Mashiroiro Symphony 1-2
  • Minami-ke 7
  • Ore no Imouto ga Konna ni Kawaii Wake ga Nai 2
  • Shukufuku no Campanella 3
  • Tenshin Ranman 1

Light Novels

  • Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai 4
  • D Sword of Legend 1
  • Famima! 2
  • Galge no Sekai yo, Youkoso! 4-5
  • Galge no Sekai yo, Youkoso! Fandisc
  • Gekkou 1
  • Kono Naka ni Hitori, Imouto ga Iru! 1
  • Papa no Iu Koto o Kikinasai! 4
  • Prave! 2
  • Seitokai no Ichizon 1-4, side 1
  • Silver Blade 1 (Galge no Sekai yo, Youkoso! addon)

Miscellaneous

  • Koiiro Sora Moyou visual fan book

Stacking them up like Kirino’s eroge…

Out of all of these, I mainly wanted to read the latest volumes for BokutomoOreimo and Papa no Iu Koto. In addition, I picked up new volumes for other manga and LN I am following. Aside from new series D Sword of Legend and Gekkou which I had introduced before in the weekly news, I also picked up one that is relevant to my interests: Kono Naka ni Hitori, Imouto ga Iru!. It’s actually about a guy who has to fall in love with one of many girls at the school. However, one of them is his imouto (unknown to him), so he has to avoid her. However, they all act like imoutos! It’s like you can’t go wrong no matter what you do!

Then there’s this series which most of you should be familiar with. Seizon is one of those series that you either love or hate. The LN is mainly in dialogue format and full of gags, so I’m curious how it will go. My main reason for picking this up is because I want to know more about Key-kun’s past. That and more Aka-chan and Mafuyu never hurts. Tastes like happiness indeed.

Personally, I loved Koisora a lot because of the art and system (plot is cliched and predictable, but I won’t complain). So naturally, I had to pick the fanbook up so I can stare at Aya and Miko-chan all day long admire the cute art, check out the chara sketches and read all the extra materials, like the Kayoko short story (you know you want it Zen) and more chibi 4komas. I highly recommend this to Koisora fans!

That’s all for now. I’ll start reading Seizon tomorrow. I plan to order more books in December since Oreimo 7 will be out. Speaking of Oreimo

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous. Tags: .

Saimoe 2010 Winner Koisora Fandisk Announced!

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. feal  |  October 21, 2010 at 2:17 am

    All thanks to my beta testing.
    Now make my state customs move fast with your powers to get my package too. :D

    Reply
  • 2. Amoirsp  |  October 21, 2010 at 2:37 am

    Let us know how seizon turns out, if there was an interesting part on the past, if you’re intending on doing a review.

    I’d also like to know if there was much deviation on the manga for mashifoni and tenshin ranman. Most likely not for the beginning but, linearizing the content always makes it different to some regard. I mean, imoutos are on the cover.

    For a second there I thought you said the shipping was 17000 yen not the order. I was like dying until I re-read that. Good to know that the packaging turned out nicer and cheaper. If it merely takes longer, it’s probably worthwhile.

    *I would have a field day with any bends, creases, or folds on shipping, mind you. Or just in general.*

    On Galge no Sekai, what exactly are the contents on the fandisc? Fandiscs on a VN are a bit obvious, but I wasn’t quite aware of fandiscs on an LN.

    Also, do you ever run drama CDs and those other miscellaneous type items? With the fanbook, you get visuals. With the light novels, you get dialogue context. Etc etc etc basically these don’t have vocals, so I wonder.

    Hm Koisora sketches. The lineart was interesting, though the ones that show up on the book I’ve probably already seen before on their website. It didn’t feel like there was much on the sample images of the visual fanbook that the site didn’t have.

    Must feel good to have such a shipment arrive and in such a well packaged fashion. I can’t imagine. How long do these book contents take you to finish? You last shipment was some time ago earlier this year, but I was wondering if you had an estimate on it.

    Reply
    • 3. feal  |  October 21, 2010 at 2:39 am

      Nah, the shipping is usually 24 hours from order. But he picked up something that was 1-3 days (and magically become 7-21 days) after some hours. :D

      Reply
  • 4. seele00  |  October 21, 2010 at 7:01 am

    DEYAMN, that’s a lot. The closest I get to that is the Newtype Magazine I recently bought. January 2010 issue too.

    Reply
    • 5. Eyzs  |  October 21, 2010 at 3:17 pm

      2010? Not 2011?

      Reply
  • 6. warum  |  October 21, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    The teddy on the box :DDDD.

    Anyways, thanks for sharing this happiness, now I feel all warm and fuzzy.

    Reply
  • 7. Chrouya  |  October 21, 2010 at 6:42 pm

    Arigato ne, Aniki.

    Reply
  • 8. BedaBeda  |  October 22, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    Nice, I really want that Koiiro Sora Moyou visual fan book!

    Reply
  • 9. Micchi  |  October 22, 2010 at 5:07 pm

    @feal: Thanks for being a guinea pig :3 Send pics of your shipment when you get it!

    @Amoirsp: Seizon’s going well so far. Amused at the Aka-chan teasing. Mashifoni follows Airi’s route, while Tenshin follows Hime’s. It’s pretty similar to the game, but cute pics. Especially Sana. So cute >w<

    I haven't started the Fandisc yet, but it's probably just side stories. I occasionally listen to drama CDs if they're out (Mashifoni in particular), but I don’t buy them as often since CDs are so expensive at 3000 yen each.

    Manga usually takes an hour or so. LN depends on the novel. I only read them at certain times, so I usually finish one volume per week.

    @seele00: Magazines are always nice. The reason I don’t usually get them is because I usually have seen the CGs and read the news already, and I don’t put up posters.

    @warum: You’re welcome. Maybe I’ll introduce something else in the next shipment write-up.

    @Chrouya: Here’s all 3 pics (LN, manga, anime) for comparison’s sake. I think I still like the LN’s version best.

    @BedaBeda: Yes, go get it! >w<b

    Reply
  • 10. Reltair  |  October 24, 2010 at 9:54 pm

    Quite the large shipment you got there. It does make more sense to buy a lot at once to save on shipping though.

    I haven’t heard of BK1 before, but I’ll check them out instead of Amazon Japan next time I want something.

    Reply
  • 11. aquaspirit39  |  October 24, 2010 at 11:30 pm

    @Micchi: How much japanese knowledge do I need to read those??? and do you know any online shop that do not require me to have some japanese bank account ? I really want to try Japanese Light Novel. .

    I have feeling that I have ask these kind of question sometimes ago =,=” but somehow I cant remember the answer.

    Thanl you

    Reply
  • 12. Nis  |  December 31, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    I hate to leave a comment on a post that’s so old, but is there any light novel series you can recommend to me?

    I’m currently reading the monogatari series (Nishinoshin’s, aka bakemonogatari and the rest of the books in that)

    I was browsing about on amazon and I saw Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai, is that a good book?

    Reply
    • 13. Micchi  |  December 31, 2010 at 4:49 pm

      Bokutomo/Haganai is a decent title, but it’s more because of the eccentric characters and the various events that they go to and do, than having to do with the story/writing. There’s some drama, but it’s mostly comedy. I like it, but it’s not the best I’ve read.

      Personally, I love Papa no Iu Koto o Kikinasai! by Tomohiro Matsu (same author as Mayoi Neko Overrun!) because it’s an emotional family story, kinda slice of life. Other titles I read usually are comedy, eroge or imouto based.

      I heard that Golden Time by Takemiya Yuyuko (Toradora!) is also pretty good. The second volume is just about to come out.

      Reply
  • 14. Nis  |  February 21, 2011 at 12:49 am

    I’m sorry I keep commenting on this old thread Micchi, but since there hasn’t been any light novel posts by you lately, I thought it’s best I keep this on topic so I put it under this post.

    I’m burning through my light novels wayyy too fast, I’m caught up on Haganai. What was your impression on Seizon after reading more of it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


おかえりお兄ちゃん、お姉ちゃん!

Recent News


Webclap

Thank you, nii-san!

Latest Entries

Categories

いつでもスーパー妹タイム

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Authors

Micchi

Imouto sensor ON
二次元妹は至高

nemuiwanko

Building up my nendoroid army

Zen

. . .

Upcoming Eroge

Last updated: 10/25

10/31
Unmei Senjou no Φ
『運命線上のφ』 2014年9月26日発売予定! Mayoeru Futari to Sekai no Subete
Hakoniwa Logic
Cabbit 第三弾!「箱庭のロジック」応援中! Tropical Vacation
Koiharu Adolescence
Eclair『恋春アドレセンス』応援 Aneyome Quartet
あねよめカルテット 応援バナー Daemon Busters
Kanojo to Ore to, Koisuru Resort
Kagura Douchuuki Sou
Himegoto Union Motto H! Ep4
Doushite, Sonna ni Kuroi Kami ga Suki Nano?
11/28
Ao no Kanata no Four Rhythm
『蒼の彼方のフォーリズム』 応援バナー spr002_bn01 Mousou Complete!
妄想コンプリート! Koisuru Kanojo no Bukiyou na Butai
【恋する彼女の不器用な舞台】 Kimi no Tonari de Koi Shiteru!
ALcotハニカム『キミのとなりで恋してる!』応援中! Sister Scheme 3
Hen Koi≒Kuro Rekishi
へんこい 変恋≒黒歴史を応援中! VenusBlood -HYPNO-
Bunny Paradise
SkyFish poco最新作『BunnyParadise ばにぱら~恋人全員バニー化計画~』を応援しています!! ChuSinGura 46+1 -Bushi no Kodou-
インレ『ChuSinGura46+1 -忠臣蔵46+1-武士の鼓動』 PENDULUM
Ero Manga!
Hotarubi no Shoujo
Harukaze Sensation!
Hanitsuma
Otome ga Kanaderu Koi no Aria
Cocoro@Function! NEO
Zannen na Ore-tachi no Seishun Jijou.
12/19
Kami no Ue no Mahoutsukai
ウグイスカグラ『紙の上の魔法使い』 Himawari to Koi no Kioku
『ヒマワリと恋の記憶』応援バナー200×40_1 Amakano
Harvest OverRay Reconnection
戯画『ハーヴェストオーバーレイ リコネクション』応援中! Hello, Lady! -New Division-
ハロー・レディ!- New Division - 応援中! Unionism Quartet
ユニオリズムカルテット 応援バナー企画参加中! Tsuki ni Yorisou Otome no Sahou 2
Kenseiki Alpha Ride
Natsu Kagura
12/26
Teito Hiten Daisakusen
Idol Mahou Shoujo Chiruchiru☆Michiru Part2
Prism Princess
01/30
Haru Kiss
戯画 『ハルキス』 応援中! Magical Canan 2
まじかるカナン2
Natsu no Iro no Nostalgia
Kishikano
Mainichi ga Harem Sugite Ore wa Yome o Kimerarenai!
1/7 no Mahoutsukai
Bishoujo Mangekyou Ch3
Sumire
Tokeijikake no Ley Line -Asagiri ni Chiru Hana-
Lautes Alltags
02/27
Kujiragami no Tear Stilla
鯨神のティアスティラ 応援バナー Sanoba Witch
Boku no Hitori Sensou
Sengo Muramasa
Ama Koi Syrups
Soreyori no Prologue
Sakura Synchronicity
Kamitsure
03/27
Hana no No ni Saku Utakata no
Recently announced
Nekopara Vol.1
『ネコぱら』 LOW-RISE!!!
はむはむソフト ろーらいず!!!応援バナー:銛山稟(アイドル名:盛山りんね)を応援します! Angel Beats!
Meguru Kisetsu no Yakusoku to, Tsunaida Sono Te no Nukumori to
Nekonade Distortion Renai Jishou no Dead End
Alice Muppet
Taiyou no Ko
Momoiro Guardian EX
Makki, Shoujo-byou
Project Gossip/Sick
Resign Override
Necromancer
kano-tsuku
Cocoro Rista!
Shoujo-tachi wa Kouya o Mezasu
Schwarzesmarken
Sakura no Uta
Koihime†Eiyuutan
Fuyu-bu Amaama Monogatari
Hyakugojuunenme no Mahoutsukai
Rance 10
Hanahime*Absolute!
Magical☆Dears
Gakuen Butou no Folklore
Sen no Hatou, Tsukisome no Kouki
Hanasaki Work Spring!
Anekouji Naoko to Giniro no Shinigami
FLOWERS Natsu-hen
Palette☆Style
Koinaka FD
Silverio Vendetta
Soushuu Senshinkan Gakuen Bansenjin
Kanojo no Seiiki
Akuma Musume no Kanban Ryouri
Re;Lord: Episode 2
Chrono Clock
Yuki Koi Melt
Pure×Connect
Ichibun no Ni Koigokoro
D.C.II Dearest Marriage
DependSpace DESERT RAIN FiNALIoN Gamer's Square Getchu.com りぺあ ~Patch Library~ かめのこおらの休憩所 地底天使 愚者の館 新:誠也の部屋 萌えゲーアワード
からふる ぱれっとx365 Indico lite KOGE*2 HOUSE moeyo.com MOON PHASE 雑記 インターネットラジオステーション<音泉> Steparu.com

Feeds

Thank you for visiting!

  • 2,894,346 hits since Sept 2/08


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 347 other followers

