Flyable Heart Review

April 24, 2009 at 3:49 am 33 comments

fh_title_screen

Company: ユニゾンシフト:ブロッサム (UnisonShift Blossom)
Game site: Flyable Heart
Release date: March 19, 2009
Links: Getchu, walkthrough, seiyuu listing

Flyable Heart is the third game by UnisonShift Blossom, following Nanatsuiro Drops and Alice Parade. A heartful school life love comedy ADV, FH follows mysterious transfer student Katsuragi Shou as he enters a new school, makes new friends and relationships, while learning more about himself and the dream-filled world he resides in.

As mentioned in his introductory post, Zen will be offering his comments on this game since he has also played it. They will be at the end of each section in green.

A small preface for anyone who cares. I will be using Micchi’s format when I write any comments during this review. However I am NOT writing a full review. The important parts were covered very thoroughly by Micchi already so there is no point in being redundant. Simply adding my own comments and opinions is all I shall be doing.

With that being said, enjoy this epic review.

Opening Theme

A nice catchy theme and relaxing at the same time. Well choreographed and introduces the major characters. Definitely gives off a dreamy wonderland vibe that pervades through the game.

Scenario

One day, Katsuragi Shou receives an envelope from his dad containing a pamphlet introducing Ootori Ryouran Gakuen, a private school located on an island, as well as a student card with his name on it. Tempted by promises of free food at the school cafetaria, Shou rushes off to the campus before the entry deadline. Along the way, a fortune teller calls out to him, warning him that misfortune will befall him in the future.

「類まれなる運命を持つ少年よ、気をつけなさい。
この先には不幸がまちうけているであろう~」

Pressed for time, he hurries off and reaches the long bridge leading to the island where he is greeted by a sign warning of fireworks preparations and prohibiting entry. Suddenly, some guy pops out from the bushes, calling him a courageous hero, and entrusts him with a USB-like device. Following the guidelines in the letter that accompanied it, Shou puts it into a weird-looking machine and accidentally activates it, causing the fireworks to simultaneously explode. Shou feels like he’s falling and he’s blinded by the light. A girl appears before him saying she will definitely save him.

fh_intro

「大丈夫、私は必ず助けるから」

FH has 6 routes with Suzuno’s being opened after completing the other five. The common route is decent length, but not exceedingly long. There are a lot of choices to make, although some don’t increase heroine affection. The pacing is well done and H scenes are placed appropriately (with one exception in Amane’s route).

The scenarios are your typical school life romance… with a slight twist. There’s the standard confession scenes, first dates and events that strengthen their bond. There are obstacles for the pair to overcome, but of course they’ll get through it, leading to a heartwarming ending. However, you won’t understand everything until you play all the routes. FH is like a jigsaw puzzle with 6 pieces (some bigger than others). On subsequent playthroughs, I felt like I was playing a Ryukishi07 work (Higurashi, Umineko) since I was busy keeping track of all the minor details.

I really liked the school events in the common route (battle royale and zombie event). They were really fun to play and reminded me of events from my high school days. I thoroughly enjoyed the ‘game over’ and ‘bad end’ scenes. I would really love to attend Ootori; everything looks so nice. It’s nice that the school offers two different uniforms for girls to choose from. The school’s security system is definitely scary. Just like the ofuro. After playing all the routes, I have began to dread a certain day of the year.

fh_cg

While the majority of the mysteries were resolved by the end of the game, there were some elements where I felt more explanation would’ve been better, for example the fireworks at the beginning. I thought the explanation of the ringing telephone was too shallow. Maybe it’s just that I hate ringing telephones and it bugged me so much throughout the whole game. Possibly the scenario writers bit off more than they can chew, but I think overall it was designed well.

There are plenty of references throughout FH. I loved the repeated references to The Wizard of Oz. Sure, it wasn’t fully explained, but I love that it allows the player to think of the connections on their own. UnisonShift also made references to their previous games. The cafe Limelight has the same name as the one that Flora’s family ran in Nanatsuiro Drops. Megumi is the imouto of Shinobu from Peace@Pieces, while Kei is the caring nii-san of Nadeshiko from Nanatsuiro Drops.

fh_cameo

Suzuno’s story was satisfying, although if you think about it too much, you might begin to question the legality of the situation. If you did not count Suzuno’s as the true ending, I felt Sakurako’s wrapped up the game nicely, bittersweet as it was. Amane and Kururi’s routes didn’t contribute much to the puzzle, but they were nice even though Kururi’s was a total guilt trip. Mayuri’s was over before it really got started; I didn’t like it. That leaves… Yui. Yui’s route was the best in my opinion, and that’s not only because I like her character. Her route was like a rollercoaster ride of emotions. I was smiling and laughing along with them during the happy moments and my heart ached for them during the sad times. Yui’s lines during one of the last scenes really moved me.

「わたしのことを全部忘れてしまったとしても...好きでいるよ」

Micchi’s recommended route order:
Mayuri, Amane, Sakurako, Kururi, Yui, Suzuno

Micchi’s route rankings:
Yui, Sakurako, Amane, Suzuno, Kururi, Mayuri

Ah Flyable Heart. Very good game. The biggest appeal for me was the intricate web the writers spun for the plot. Interconnected story elements which for a global understanding rely on the completion of other story arcs. Micchi’s comparison to a puzzle is very apt for this game and is something I would like to see more eroge follow suit with.

Most of the story arcs are interesting and well written. Primarily of note is that there are almost two stories in each route. There is the story that involves the heroine which you are pursuing obviously, but more than that there is the overall story that creates the larger picture. This goes on to explain all the minute details which help further understand the story of the heroine. I found the layered storytelling extremely entertaining and enjoyable. To me it felt almost like hunting for treasure as you try to pick up on the hidden meanings without being given all the required information.

I find that the biggest flaw in the writing and well the various story arcs in general was the inconsistency that led to some routes being far more complete and having a larger role in the overall story. A greater degree of homogeny among the various stories would have been preferred in my opinion. Prevailing among all the others in spotlighting this issue is the Mayuri story arc, which was just plain half-assed. Her route not only contributed almost nothing to the overall picture, but even her own story had no concrete ending. Mayuri’s story just stopped and left all of the major issues established completely up in the air with absolutely NO resolutions. In the end there are only three story arcs that actually explain anything significant. Which in the end essentially  means you would understand everything that is going on aside from the individual girls issues by reading half of the story.

Zen’s recommended route order:
Mayuri, Amane, Kururi, Yui, Sakurako, Suzuno

Zen’s route rankings:
Sakurako, Yui, Suzuno, Kururi, Amane, Mayuri

Characters

Katsuragi Shou

Our courageous hero (as proclaimed by Souryu) is a mysterious transfer student to Ootori Ryouran Gakuen. No one on the student council or school board knew of his acceptance into the private school, but he soon fits in nicely. Shou is your typical nice guy and will always lend a helping hand to those in need. All he thinks about is food and hence, he is easily baited with sweets and food. Starts out living with his father Shigeki.

Shou is a true mysterious transfer student. From the beginning of the game, one of the major points is trying to determine his identity. I still have to say WTF to Shou about what happened during Amane’s 2nd H scene and Kururi’s 2nd H scene. That’s just wrong.

Shou felt pretty meh to me. The main selling point for this character is his bottomless stomach and the comedy that results from it.

fh_yui

Inaba Yui

Shou’s ‘harapeko sister’ and classmate, Yui transferred to Ootori one week before he did. She’s a simple and innocent girl who loves food just as much as Shou, but she’s embarrassed about it since she’s a girl. Very lively and friendly. Love donuts and chonmage a lot.

Yui’s definitely my favorite character in FH. Her mannerisms make me melt ^___^  But beyond her positive exterior, I am also very impressed with her serious side. I really loved the holding hands and morning love affirmation scenes. Hau~ omochikaeri~! Also, among the greatest mysteries: what’s with the tanuki tail…?

Harapeko Tanuki girl does have some really cute and touching scenes but other than that I found her character and personality a bit boring. In addition I had a problem with her voice, I found myself clicking fast to try to avoid listening to her. I leave this hungry hungry tanuki to you, Micchi.

Much obliged.

fh_amane

Sumeragi Amane

The council leader of the Ryourankai. She’s very serious and duty-minded. Possesses a lethal kick: usually high kick, but also side kick. I guess you can call her a tsundere. Doesn’t like to show any weakness, like crying. She cannot refuse sincere requests whatsoever. Although she isn’t looking for romantic relationships, she does want to find her knight in shining armor.

Originally, I didn’t think I would like her since I thought she’d be the tsundere. However, she’s not that tsun (only to her brother Souryu) and her dere side is very adorable. It’s fine, Amane! You don’t need to hide it!

I found Amane to be an endearing character with an adorable side that makes me want to hug her. I also thought she would be much more tsun than she really is, and while I do not have a problem with tsun or lack there of… The surprise that she is mostly a shy dere type was rather pleasant.

fh_sakurako

Minase Sakurako

One of the idols of the school, Sakurako is like an angel. She’s part of the Ryourankai and really close friends with Mayuri. Loves to try new things because it’s exciting, and has a very creative mind. Very innocent and gullible.

A really kind and gentle spirit. She really is an angel that brightens everything up. She’d make a good girlfriend and I was very happy with her route ending.

I really liked Sakurako a lot. Sakurako is the type of character who exudes a calming aura. Her gentle, loving, and sometimes naive mannerisms combined with her very touching story (Especially the ending) makes for a winning character. I have a hard time deciding wether I like her route or Yui’s more.

fh_suzuno

Yukishiro Suzuno

Suzuno is a self-proclaimed ghost who can only be seen by Shou, Yui and Maxx. However, she can’t pass through doors and walls as normal ghosts can, even though she tries hard to do so. Ironically, she’s afraid of ghosts. Doesn’t talk much and answers by nodding. Almost like an imouto to Shou and Yui.

Really cute loli. I just wanna hug and protect her! ><b

Clumsy loli. To be honest I find almost no interest what so ever in Suzuno nor her route.

fh_mayuri

Shirasagi Mayuri

Mayuri is the other school idol: she’s smart, she’s pretty, she’s perfect in every way. She’s part of the Seitokai, but also helps out with the Ryourankai sometimes with Sakurako. An onee-san figure that helps with solving others’ problems. Reads others very well.

She’s a bit too perfect for me. I don’t like her personalities that much. I’ll leave the long black-haired girls for Zen.

Mayuri teaches us that the moral of the story is you can NEVER be too perfect. Mayuri is my personal favorite character… Along with almost everyone else it seems. I find her firm and noble, yet brittle personality to be attractive (As is her looong black hair…). However in all seriousness her slightly aloof teasing combined with her caring personality is just plain awesome.

fh_kururi

Kujou Kururi

A ‘mad mechanic’ genius loli who doesn’t like men and can be hard to approach. Part of the Ryourankai and is the Ryourankai dorm manager. Creator of #28, Maxx. Very straightforward and does not have interest in trivial things. However, her attitude changes completely when talking to people she likes or respects. Lives off kalorie mates and recharges in the bath.

I feel so guilty. Her fake cute side is scary. *_* I feel so guilty. Her innocent child-like “take advantage of me” side is hard to ignore. I feel so guilty.

Kururi makes me feel guiltier than OJ. For some strange reason she gets more loli the more H things become which is just downright disturbing. Her personality is akin to having a cute little puppy following you around. Which is fine, but I really do not want to do any H with cute little puppies thank you.

fh_akira

Subcharacters

Aside from the freaky teacher, the supporting cast fits well into all routes, either as an integral part of the story or for comedic relief. Subcharacters include Seitokai president and Amane’s onii-chan Souryu, vice president Hotaru-chan Kei, genki secretary Megumi, Shou’s roommate and all-purpose robot Maxx and quiet classmate Akira.

Maxx is the best friend one can wish for… even if he’s a robot. I’d cry on my shinyuu‘s chest any day. Souryu is much more helpful than he appears and I appreciated his story. I really like Gumi-chan’s “Sho-kun-san” even though I found her character a bit one-dimensional. Kei is awesome in every way. *nosebleeds*

Maxx is my favorite character without a route. In fact I like Maxx so much he needs a route! Who wouldn’t fall for his shiny, round, smooth, hard metal body... Anyway Souryu and Hotaru chan were great characters as well, their comedy duo had my face in a cramp through much of the game. Gumi was funny at times but a little bit annoying, while Akira made for a good contrast.

fh_nekomimi_akira

「やりたくてやってんじゃにゃいにゃん!」

I loved all the characters except for Mayuri-sama. That being said… why was she the runaway winner in the chara poll!? Yui is so much better, you M’s!

Simple, Mayuri does not eat more than a starving hippo. How unattractive to have an uncultured girl with an annoying voice cheerfully stuffing her face across from you!

Micchi’s character rankings:
Yui, Amane, Suzuno, Sakurako, Kururi, Mayuri

Zen’s character rankings:
Mayuri, Sakurako, Amane, Yui, Kururi, Suzuno

Graphics

fh_cg3

The artwork for FH were drawn by three artists: Itou Noizi, Sasakura Ayato and Pero. They all worked on previous UnisonShift Blossom titles (actually most of the staff did, including the scenario writers). As expected, all the CGs are very beautiful and vary from playful to sentimental. Some CGs are larger than normal and a panning technique is used during the game to view these. H scenes often start out zoomed in on the HCG and then slowly zoom out for dramatic effect. I had some issues with the eyes and body proportions for some CGs, but overall they captured the feel of the game nicely (complete with sparkles and stars).

The backgrounds are varied, but are not spectacular. I felt there could’ve been more varied tachi-e for some characters. Yui seems to stay in the same pose with only changes in her facial expressions.

fh_sd

There were plenty of SD CGs throughout the game and they are absolutely adorable and hilarious. I especially love the one with Yui freaking out while lying in bed next to Shou.

I must say the artwork for FH was quite impressive. The more subtle shading was rather more enjoyable than hard cell shading. Some of the backgrounds were a bit on the girlish side but the lighting blends and effects were very well done. There are of course mistakes, or bad CG here and there. Minor issues here and there are something that cannot be avoided as long as humans are making the CG and thus cannot be really counted against the artwork. There was nothing that made me feel the artist did a terrible job even when I personally did not enjoy a specific CG.

I also liked the effect that the SD CGs gave the game. The scenes that they depicted usually had an almost sarcastic humor emphasized by the use of the SD characters.

System

The interface for FH is very pink. The character in the title screen changes every time you start the game or exit from something in the extra mode. You might be lucky and get to the see the teacher. The options are pretty much standard. There are 80 save slots plus one quicksave. I felt it wasn’t enough as I had to conserve them for the last two routes. When you save during H scenes, they will show up in the preview window in mosaic form.

fh_interface

The textbox is decent sized and works well. The borders vary a bit depending on the dialogue. It took me a bit to realize that you have to press the little X button at the bottom right to hide the text window. It’s a bit annoying if you misclick or click after alt-tabbing back, however this can be rectified by assigning it to the right mouse button. When characters are talking off screen, their sprite appears at the bottom left, covering the FH logo which I’m not sure what it’s needed for. I don’t know what the flashing lights on the bottom right are for.

fh_profile_data

The extra mode includes CG viewing, H scene replay and the BGM player. The CG viewer includes both normal CGs, SD CGs and special tachi-e. In addition, there is a character profile page which keeps track of what you have learned about each character. I found this page very useful when you’re trying to understand everything that happens in the game.

Pink. There is way too much of it in this game. As I am not some blonde valley girl I tend to have a slight aversion to coating everything in the color pink. I feel that pink is not quite neutral enough to use for everything in a game menu. A game like My Little Pony seems more reasonable to overload with pink.

The loathsome color scheme aside, for the most part the interface and system are pretty standard. Characters appearing on the side of the dialogue box while talking was a nice feature that I found quite useful. I would definitely LOVE to see that put in every game.  Other than that I did have  some problems with that annoyingly tiny X in the corner to close the dialogue box. Nothing else really stands out in the interface for FH, standard functional interface that we are all used to by now.

Sound

fh_bgm_mode

There are 33 tracks in the BGM mode, 2 of which are vocals (OP and true ED). When you fully complete the game, liner notes by the composer become available. I really like the true ED “もう始まっている、未来。” a lot. I don’t even know how many times I’ve listen to it now. It’s awesome because the lyrics and melody totally match the feelings I had when I finished the true route. In general, the BGMs were really well done and I loved some of the sentimental themes, such as “Sadly Chord” and “Azalea”. The voice acting fit the characters. Yui’s voice was a bit irritating at first, but she grew on me. Suzuno’s is very high pitched.

The BGM for FH were decent but really nothing especially amazing. They fit the scenes well enough to not be intrusive and set the moods effectively. After playing the game for awhile though the tracks all kind of blended together with almost none standing out. Of the two or so songs that stood out among the rest, I personally did not find them to be songs which I really wanted to listen to over and over again.

Voice acting as usual had no major flaws or problems other than my own personal dislike of Yui’s voice.

H Scenes

fh_yui_hcg

Each of the 6 heroines has between 1 and 3 H scenes. Length is reasonably short with 2-4 positions per scene. The timing was quite well done as they occur well into the relationship. However, I felt that Amane’s second H scene was extremely out of place, both in timing and location. I also felt Mayuri’s was a bit too long but that may be because I don’t like her character much. I found it moderately funny that Shou always thinks he can’t hold in his inner urges anymore (もう我慢できない) prior to every scene.

Kururi’s H scenes made me feel very very very guilty. Everything was so wrong about it, but…

Flyable Heart H scenes were well done in that they were placed after sufficent relationships were developed. With that said there were a few times where it felt inappropriate to say the least. Most notably among those were the second H scene for Amane as well as Kururi’s H scene. These two scenes were just… well W. T. F. I have no idea what they were thinking when they wrote those. However there were a few others including the second H scene for Sakurako which did feel a little bit awkwardly placed. I did feel that they wrote Shou as being a little bit too aggressive for this type of eroge though. Some of the scenes could succinctly be described as borderline rape.

Mood spoiling issues aside the H scenes were done relatively tactfully and were effective at showing the deepening of the relationships.

Overall

All of Micchi’s reviews will be rated by assigning scores out of 10 to each of the following categories: Scenario, characters, graphics, system, sound, and H scenes. Half marks may be given. The scoring is as follows:

  • 10 – Absolutely satisfied
  • 9 – Among the best, only minor improvements
  • 8 – Good overall
  • 7 – Average, a mix of good and bad
  • 6 – Below average, slightly disappointing
  • <5 – Very disappointed

The overall score is a weighted sum (3x Scenario + 2x Characters + 2x Graphics + 1x System + 1x Sound + 1x H scenes) for a total out of 100.

  • Scenario: 9
  • Characters: 9
  • Graphics: 9
  • System: 8.5
  • Sound: 9
  • H Scenes: 8
  • Overall: 88.5

Full of touching stories, captivating art and loveable characters, Flyable Heart is a must play for anyone looking for a satisfying romance story. Two thumbs and a kalorie mate up.

  • Scenario: 9
  • Characters: 8
  • Graphics: 8
  • System: 6
  • Sound: 7
  • H Scenes: 7
  • Overall: 79

A good solid eroge with an excellent scenario, romantic and heartwarming stories, and characters you will remember and empathize with. This game is not only well worth the time, but something everyone who enjoys a good story will want to play.

fh_cg2

この場所で、この時間で、見つけた。
普通で、なにげなくて、あたりまえの
特別なもの。

Entry filed under: Reviews. Tags: , , , .

Hoshizora no Memoria Review NekoNekoSoft Revival

33 Comments Add your own

  • 1. accany  |  April 24, 2009 at 3:58 am

    Zen like i said I would never fall for maxx’s hard metal round shiny body.
    IMO nowadays the quality of the art for most games are already very good so im on the lookout for unique ones instead of just good.
    The color scheme fits the theme very well actually so pink shouldn’t be much of a problem.

    The whole game was indeed pretty good but the ending kind of threw it off for me since they could have put ANYTHING. Absolutely anything in the story and get away with it. Even shou X his father’s yaoi could have been done =_=

    Reply
  • 2. Zen  |  April 24, 2009 at 4:11 am

    I agree about the art, the quality is generally quite good. Stylistic differences are one of the only issues to really bring up. Barring extremely terrible art *cough* Umineko.

    The ending was disappointing for me as well. It was too simple and could be seen coming from a hundred years off.

    Reply
    • 3. accany  |  April 24, 2009 at 4:14 am

      Umineko is more sound and story focused.
      If anything close your eyes while playing it.
      Oh wait then you can’t read =/

      Reply
  • 4. m3rryweather  |  April 24, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    Whoo, this review is epic. I like the side-by-side comparisons and wordplay among you two. Nice job!

    @Micchi: Sorry, I’m not an M. In fact, my favorite moments are when Syo shakes Mayuri up with his deredere onslaught. You can blame me and Kresnik on the poll results. XP

    @Zen: Similar to what Accany said, while there was quite a bit of pink I didn’t find it too bad and it wasn’t intrusive to the overall experience. And no, I don’t want Maxx route. Ever.

    @The duo: I am GUILTLESS for Kururi! YA-YUH! This probably tells a lot about my character.

    Reply
  • 5. Silver  |  April 24, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    But wow! The second official voting shocks me actually. Mayuri in first place with the Kururi in second place. Then Amane, Akira, Sakurako, Suzuno, and finally Yui. Haha, Soryu is more popular han Syo.

    Reply
  • 6. Zen  |  April 24, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    @m3rry: The pink is not really make or break for me. It just felt a bit distracting since it was rather bright and almost, obnoxious? I would have preferred something a more sedate as a color scheme.

    Reply
  • [...] read Micchi whining about Mayuri because he doesn’t anything and Zen’s wisdom, click here.  So I’ll go straight to the characters and my thought-provoking insights. Oh yeah, you know [...]

    Reply
  • 8. kyon  |  May 21, 2010 at 2:18 am

    The game’s really interesting and I have been wanting to play it for a good while now, but despite the otaku that I am, I still don’t know Japanese. So far, from what I’ve seen, there is currently still no English patch being worked on. I don’t want to be a bother, so I will not ask for one here. Noizi Ito-sama’s artistic work has enticed me to play the game and will look to play it soon and instead of using an English patch, as there is none, I will try to bear with reading Japanese while increasing my knowledge of the language.

    Reply
    • 9. Micchi  |  May 23, 2010 at 1:11 am

      Good luck! ATLAS does help a little bit, so you may be able to get the gist of the story even if you can’t understand it 100%. Part of playing these games is to expand your vocabulary and overall knowledge. It doesn’t hurt that there’s cute girls to guide you along the way :)

      Reply
  • [...] supposed to! If you haven’t, why in the devil’s name are you reading this?! Go check it out! After that, I’ll be giving the lowdown on the expected differences, style, content, [...]

    Reply
  • 11. cody  |  August 17, 2010 at 4:04 am

    @ Kyon

    I’m doing the same thing…Just with agth

    Some scenes I understand (Has to look for key words)

    And If I miss the word I have no idea whats going on..

    Reply
  • 12. Mazryonh  |  October 9, 2010 at 6:08 pm

    Are you going to review the fandisc for this game that expands on Mayuri’s route? I’d like to see a detailed review of that fandisc by you.

    Reply
    • 13. Zen  |  October 9, 2010 at 7:37 pm

      I was originally going to, however once I started playing the game I found it to be so terrible I could not keep playing and dropped it. There were so many things wrong with that game, Mayuri’s character was not even the same anymore, thats how bad it was.

      Reply
  • 14. Flyable Heart review « Calamitous Intent  |  December 11, 2010 at 12:05 am

    [...] But I still really like it! And I can’t stop using exclamation marks! There are already a few reviews out for this already, but I want to get my two cents [...]

    Reply
  • 15. Cross  |  June 4, 2011 at 7:16 am

    Guys I have question for this eroge
    Is it true the route is determined from the start??
    Cause when I play the new game,& after the OP movie,there’s a “select story” section xp

    Reply
    • 16. AzuAzu  |  June 4, 2011 at 7:29 am

      You’re playing the wrong version. The “Select Story” is Flyable Candyheart, the FD.

      Reply
  • 17. Cross  |  June 4, 2011 at 7:48 am

    Oh dang I just realize that /facepalm
    Mine “flyable candyheart -the future is always connected-”

    Can you share the torrent link for the FH lol??

    Reply
  • 18. Eustia  |  January 20, 2012 at 6:36 am

    how do u enter suzuno’s route?

    Reply
    • 19. Micchi  |  January 20, 2012 at 8:32 am

      You need to finish all other routes first, then notice her presence early in the game.

      Reply
  • 20. toyib  |  February 15, 2012 at 7:28 am

    even if they planned to make a solitude VN about mayuri, but mayuri’s ending here was really annoying, it’s more like a teaser for mayuri’s private vn -_-

    Reply
    • 21. Lee  |  February 15, 2012 at 11:27 am

      Just finished Mayuri’s route myself. Absolutely loved her. But her route was just so……..ugh (for loss of better expression), and her ending, just don’t get me started. I think I might give Kiminago a go, and see if makes me feel any better. From what Zen has said about it….I can only hope.

      Reply
  • 22. Horseband  |  March 19, 2012 at 2:07 am

    Can anyone explain something about Sakuraka’s route?

    *spoilers*

    I don’t understand where Sakuraka fits in with the whole childhood tree injury thing. Was she supposedly there playing with Shoukun as a kid when he climbed the tree and got injured? If thats the case, why did she have the picture he drew for his parents? Did it fall out of his pocket or something when he fell off the tree?

    I’m using the terribad translation patch and I went back using ATLAS but I still am having troubles trying to figure out exactly the significance of that scene.

    Reply
    • 23. Micchi  |  March 19, 2012 at 6:52 pm

      It’s been a while since I played FH, so let’s see if I still remember. It ties in with Yui’s route (and Suzuno’s too by association), so if you haven’t played that maybe you should do that first since you may understand it better.

      [Spoiler]
      There’s basically two sides of the story, one in the world with Shou (original, not the one he is in now), and the other in Yui’s world. In his world, he was the one who climbed the tree. However, in Yui’s world, he doesn’t exist, so instead it was a girl (Sakurako) who played there. That’s why depending on whose perspective you were following, the child was a boy or a girl. The two events happened separately and simultaneously at the same time and place, if you know what I mean. That’s why they make you play Sakurako’s route before Yui and Suzuno’s, because you start to realize that something isn’t quite right (the childhood injury, where his father is now, etc).

      Reply
      • 24. Horseband  |  March 19, 2012 at 8:14 pm

        Coincidentally those are the two routes I need to do still. I will hold off on reading your spoiler until those are finished and then come back and check it out to make sure I understand. Thanks for the extremely prompt answer on a 3 year old blog post :).

        Reply
      • 25. Horseband  |  March 20, 2012 at 6:42 pm

        Hey I just finished suzono and yui’s routes. Ugh they were so much more bittersweet than the rest but they both wrapped everything up and now I feel I understand it all for the most part.

        I’m sorry but I don’t know how to make the font white. I think you changed my reply before to do it. I haven’t been able to figure it out.

        [Spoilers]

        After I saw Suzono’s first epilogue I was ready to cry. I was kind of pissed that they would end it like that but then I saw the new epilogue appear on the menu.

        Can you explain the “true” epilogue to me? What exactly did Suzono lie about? (She says she lied to him). How did Shou get to that future and not age at all (I assume he used a time machine perfected by kururi and him)? I know that max is the same max because he has memories of Shou, but is that the same Kuriri (Dr. Kujo Flyer)?

        Thanks for your time. The final epilogue confused me a bit.

        Reply
        • 26. Micchi  |  March 20, 2012 at 8:11 pm

          To write in white, use the tags <font color=”white> and </font> around the text. You can also use other HTML tags in your comments.

          If I remember correctly… Shou did age as he waited to meet her again over 10 years later. The time machine was perfected by Kururi (who is known as Dr. Flyer Kujo in the future), but it wasn’t used by Shou. I think they just drew Shou a bit young-looking, but considering their age difference in the future I think it’s understandable why they would do so. As for Kururi… well, some girls just never get their growth spurt.

          Wasn’t Suzuno’s lie that she was from the very far future just so that he would give up trying to see her again?

          Now that you’ve finished FH, I highly suggest you play the fandisk Flyable CandyHeart. It adds even more to Yui and Suzuno’s stories. Suzuno is too adorable ><

        • 27. Horseband  |  March 20, 2012 at 8:45 pm

          Thanks Micchi.

          [spoiler]

          Okay I understand now. That’s one of the outcomes I was assuming. It all makes sense now. I’ve thought back to each of the routes and made sense of them too. I’m surprised the game wrapped it all up nicely without any ridiculously big plot holes.

          Thinking back it’s sad that Yui is basically gone in all the routes except her own (and maybe Mayuri’s but her route was such a cluster that I don’t even want to bother worrying about placing her route in “the timeline”).

          I intend on playing the fandisc very soon. I am finishing up Little Busters first. I’m still not at the point in which I can freely read Japanese without trouble so I have to rely on programs to help me translate (Like ATLAS). Unisonshift games seem to be pretty “simple” language wise compared to some other VNs so I’m not expecting too much headache.

          Yui and Suzuno were my favorite characters too. I’m excited to see the continuation of their stories and also excited for Kururi’s continuation because I liked her character too.

          I’m guessing the fandisc is a bit “lighter” in regards to the mystery and what not, but if it’s alright with you may I post any questions I get about the fandisc on here once I’m playing it?

        • 28. Micchi  |  March 20, 2012 at 9:21 pm

          Yup, that’s why I like FH a lot. Well, FCH in general is quite light-hearted, but Yui and Suzuno’s routes have quite a lot of new material. Feel free to ask me if there’s questions ^^

  • 29. heartbroken  |  May 9, 2012 at 11:32 am

    hmm any1 know what is the content in his father letter from Minase Sakurako route?

    Reply
  • 30. heartbroken  |  May 14, 2012 at 3:55 am

    i need help! how to install flyable candyhearts?

    http://www.craneanime.com/2011/11/hatiku.html

    Reply
  • 31. Unison Shift: Blossom « Seven Nights Translations  |  August 21, 2012 at 9:17 pm

    [...] There are already several reviews of this game, so check them out (especially Micchi’s one). I’m not saying really anything new, so this will be brief. In short, a very good chara-ge. The heroines are utterly adorable (all of them -though a couple not always-, which is somewhat of an accomplishment) and the whole cast is very good (even the protagonist, to some extent), the common trunk is very fun (thanks in no small amount to the Kaichou), and the routes manage well the timing in becoming dramatic (though the relationship upgrade is maybe a little sudden), and in a few scenes only the bravest or the most heartless can manage to keep completely straight and not tear up even a little. Yui, who for some reason has a raccoon tail [...]

    Reply
  • 32. Jason  |  June 28, 2013 at 7:38 am

    Hmmm wanna ask, is are there actually epiloques for the other heroines, or is it just for Yui and Suzuno?

    Reply
    • 33. Micchi  |  June 28, 2013 at 5:00 pm

      I don’t recall there being any epilogues, but Flyable CandyHeart has some after stories.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


おかえりお兄ちゃん、お姉ちゃん!

Recent News


Webclap

Thank you, nii-san!

Latest Entries

Categories

いつでもスーパー妹タイム

Authors

Micchi

Imouto sensor ON
二次元妹は至高

nemuiwanko

Building up my nendoroid army

Zen

. . .

Upcoming Eroge

Last updated: 08/28

08/29
Harenochi Kitto Nanohana Biyori
『晴のちきっと菜の花びより』応援中です! Himawari!!
ひまわり!! -あなただけを見つめてる- 応援中! Hanayome to Maou
『花嫁と魔王 ~王室のハーレムは下克上~』応援中! Dekinai Watashi wa, Kurikaesu
『できない私が、くり返す。』を応援しています! Satsukoi
ALcot『サツコイ~悠久なる恋の歌~』応援中! Maou no Kuse ni Namaiki da! Torotoro Tropical!
PRIMAL×HEARTS
Sougeki no Jaeger
Himegoto Union Motto H! Ep3
MeltyMoment Mini Fandisc Aoi & Kagami ver.
09/26
Minamijuujisei Renka
すたじお緑茶『南十字星恋歌』応援中! Oniichan, Migite no Shiyou o Kinshi Shimasu!
お兄ちゃん、右手の使用を禁止します! Unmei Senjou no Φ
『運命線上のφ』 2014年9月26日発売予定! Ao no Kanata no Four Rhythm
『蒼の彼方のフォーリズム』 応援バナー spr002_bn01 Passage!
戯画 『パサージュ!』 応援中! Kanojo ga Ore ni Kureta Mono. Ore ga Kanojo ni Ageru Mono.
onomatope*新作『彼女が俺にくれたもの。俺が彼女にあげるもの。~KISS My Darling:めちゃ婚 case3~』2014年9月26日発売! Mayoeru Futari to Sekai no Subete
Yakimochi Stream
【ヤキモチストリーム】応援中! Tropical Vacation
Nanairo Reincarnation
なないろリンカネーション 琴莉 Bunny Paradise
SkyFish poco最新作『BunnyParadise ばにぱら~恋人全員バニー化計画~』を応援しています!! Tengokuhime
『天極姫~新世大乱・双界の覇者達~』応援中!! Keiyaku Shoujo
puremore『契約彼女』応援バナー200×40_1 Ano Harewataru Sora yori Takaku
Sekai o Sukuu Dake no Kantan na Oshigoto
Doushite, Sonna ni Kuroi Kami ga Suki Nano?
Isekai Lovers!
MeltyMoment Mini Fandisc Sumire & Chiemi ver.
Josou Gakuen (Nin)
Soushuu Senshinkan Gakuen Hachimyoujin: Ten no Toki
Muv-Luv Alternative: Total Eclipse
Walkure Romanze Re:tell
10/24
Starlight☆Idol
Busou Shoujotai Blade☆Briders
10/31
Hakoniwa Logic
Cabbit 第三弾!「箱庭のロジック」応援中! Koiharu Adolescence
Eclair『恋春アドレセンス』応援 Magical Canan 2
まじかるカナン2 Aneyome Quartet
あねよめカルテット 応援バナー PENDULUM
Tsuki ni Yorisou Otome no Sahou 2
Daemon Busters
1/7 no Mahoutsukai
Kanojo to Ore to, Koisuru Resort
Hotarubi no Shoujo
Kagura Douchuuki Sou
Himegoto Union Motto H! Ep4
11/28
Mousou Complete!
妄想コンプリート! Koisuru Kanojo no Bukiyou na Butai
【恋する彼女の不器用な舞台】 ChuSinGura 46+1 -Bushi no Kodou-
インレ『ChuSinGura46+1 -忠臣蔵46+1-武士の鼓動』 Harukaze Sensation!
Hanitsuma
Prism Princess
Sister Scheme 3
VenusBlood -HYPNO-
Kamitsure
Otome ga Kanaderu Koi no Aria
Cocoro@Function! NEO
Ero Manga!
12/19
Himawari to Koi no Kioku
『ヒマワリと恋の記憶』応援バナー200×40_1 Unionism Quartet
ユニオリズムカルテット 応援バナー企画参加中! Amakano
Kenseiki Alpha Ride
Hello, Lady! -New Division-
12/26
Teito Hiten Daisakusen
Recently announced
Kami no Ue no Mahoutsukai
ウグイスカグラ『紙の上の魔法使い』 LOW-RISE!!!
はむはむソフト ろーらいず!!!応援バナー:銛山稟(アイドル名:盛山りんね)を応援します! Angel Beats!
Meguru Kisetsu no Yakusoku to, Tsunaida Sono Te no Nukumori to
Nekonade Distortion Renai Jishou no Dead End
Alice Muppet
Taiyou no Ko
Momoiro Guardian EX
Makki, Shoujo-byou
Project Gossip/Sick
Resign Override
Necromancer
kano-tsuku
Cocoro Rista!
Shoujo-tachi wa Kouya o Mezasu
Bishoujo Mangekyou Ch3
Schwarzesmarken
Sakura no Uta
Koihime†Eiyuutan
Fuyu-bu Amaama Monogatari
Hyakugojuunenme no Mahoutsukai
Zannen na Ore-tachi no Seishun Jijou.
Rance 10
Nekopara Vol.1
Sumire
Soreyori no Prologue
Hanahime*Absolute!
Hen Koi≒Kurorekishi
Magical☆Dears
Boku no Hitori Sensou
Gakuen Butou no Folklore
Natsu Kagura
Lautes Alltags
Sen no Hatou, Tsukisome no Kouki
Haru Kiss
Kimi no Tonari de Koi Shiteru!
DependSpace DESERT RAIN FiNALIoN Gamer's Square Getchu.com りぺあ ~Patch Library~ かめのこおらの休憩所 地底天使 愚者の館 新:誠也の部屋 萌えゲーアワード
からふる ぱれっとx365 Indico lite KOGE*2 HOUSE moeyo.com MOON PHASE 雑記 インターネットラジオステーション<音泉> Steparu.com

Feeds

Thank you for visiting!

  • 2,803,654 hits since Sept 2/08


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 339 other followers

